Dearest Beloved, we are gathered here today….

19 Oct

liebsterliebsterliebsterliebster

…to celebrate my being awarded the Liebster Award!!

Recently I have received not one, not two, not even three, but four nominations for The Liebster Award! How amazing is that?! Definitely a reason to celebrate!

Thank you so much to Michelle, Dawn, Jenny and Julie for nominating me for this award. I am truly touched and honoured to receive this award from all of you.

Trawling back through my brain to my A-Level German and Gap Year time in Munich, I can tell you that in German the word “liebster” means favourite, beloved or dearest.  It is an award created by bloggers for fellow bloggers to recognize blogs that you love. I am really flattered to have received this award and especially to have received it from four fellow bloggers whose blogs I love to read.

There are a few easy to follow ‘rules’ for accepting your award: 

1. Link back and recognize the blogger who nominated you.

2. Answer ten questions given to you, by the person who nominated you.

3. Nominate ten other bloggers for the award.

4. Create ten questions for your nominees to answer.

5. Notify your nominees.

6. You may copy and paste the award (which is at the top of this post) to display on your blog.

As pacing is the name of the game with ME/CFS, I am going to take 4 posts to fully comply with the rules. I will answer the ten questions set by each of my four nominators in four separate posts. This way I spread out the cognitive and physical energy needed and will hopefully keep my good friend ME/CFS happy. My ten nominations and my own ten questions for my ten nominees to answer will be the same across all four posts. Got it? Gosh this awards business is complicated!

Do the Hokey Pokey! Photo credit: www.forbes.com

Do the Hokey Pokey! Photo credit: http://www.forbes.com

So today I want to say a huge THANK YOU to Michelle over at Fibro…Dealing and Coping Through Laughter and Tears for nominating me for this award. Michelle’s blog does exactly what the title says. She shares her experiences of living with Fibromyalgia, the ups, the downs and all the bits in between.

Michelle’s 10 questions for me are:

1.  What inspires you to blog?

My illness and experience of it. My fellow bloggers and readers and their lovely comments. Positivity and happiness. Delicious food. Anything and everything!

2.  What are your other hobbies?

Allergy free baking and cooking. Yoga. Reading. 

3.  Do you hope to make money blogging?

One day when energy allows I’d love to make blogging my paid work.

Cornish honeycomb is known as hokey pokey! Photo credit: http://anniescitykitchen.blogspot.co.uk/

Cornish honeycomb is known as hokey pokey! Photo credit: http://anniescitykitchen.blogspot.co.uk/

4. Do you hokey pokey?

You put your left foot in, your left foot out, you turn yourself around and that’s what it’s all about! Do….the hokey pokey (though I know it as hokey cokey!!) Awh such a happy song! If you need a reminder check out this You Tube video and have a sing-a-long!

5.  What is the most inspiring place you’ve traveled to?

Lake Atilian in Guatemala. It was so beautiful and still. Or maybe actually Vancouver, Canada which seemed to have it all, sunshine, the ocean, mountains, a true melting pot. That’s a tough question!

6.  What quote, and by whom, inspires you?

“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain” by Vivian Greene. This is how I try to live my life with ME/CFS.

7. If you thought the government powers that be would actually listen to you what would you say?

Good health is at the heart of a good life so health care provision must be at the heart of government policy, both in big and small ways.

8. What is your favorite movie genre? why?

Feel Good – who wants to watch a sad movie?!

9.  Whom do you hope to be an inspiration to?

Anyone who wants to be inspired. In particular I hope I inspire others to keep faith and stay positive even when life throws you health hurdles.

10. My life is: not what I intended but it is still wonderful in so many ways.

Here are my ten dearest and beloved nominee blogs for The Liebster Award:

  1. Currankentucky – a fellow ME/CFS fighter who writes beautifully and poetically about the travesties this illness inflicts on her.
  2. A Very Frank Senior  – a welcome break from all my health and foodie interests. Frank writes rants and lilts about life. Always interesting, often controversial and his photography is great too.
  3. Lethargic Smiles – one girl’s fight to overcome POTs. Positive and inspiring. We share a similar positive attitude and obsessional drive to recover our health.
  4. Rag and Bone Shop of the Heart – an Irish lady living in America’s battle with ME/CFS. Sometimes emotional. Sometimes medical. Always easy to relate to, informative and thoughtful.
  5. The Homeschooling Doctor – medical doctor turned stay at home mum. Firm believer in the power of diet and nutrition for optimal health. Witty, informative posts about battling sub-optimal bowel function!
  6. Me, Myself and ME – a well written and easy to read insight into the daily life and struggles of living with ME/CFS and its impact on every aspect of life.
  7. Living Being Doing with CFS – posts about living and thriving with ME/CFS. Claire is positive and pragmatic in her approach, I relate to her writings and get real encouragement from them.
  8. The Pollyanna Plan – the power of positivity, joy and happiness to improve chronic health conditions. So uplifting, inspiring and always makes me smile.
  9. Deliciously Ella – Ella has POTs and is healing herself through the power of food. Inspiring, delicious recipes with stunning photography.
  10. Notes From The Fog – daily life with chronic pain and the joy of brain fog. I totally relate to Trisha’s posts and enjoy every word.

Congratulations to you all 🙂

And here are the ten questions that I would like each of you lucky nominees to answer in accepting this award:

  1. Why did you start a blog?
  2. Describe yourself in 3 words:
  3. How would you describe your diet?
  4. What do you consider to be your greatest achievement to date?
  5. What’s the best novel you have ever read?
  6. What makes you smile?
  7. What is your favourite season?
  8. What is your goal in life?
  9. Where would you like to go on holiday (vacation to my American readers!)?
  10. Did you have any new years resolutions for 2013? If yes, have you kept to them?

Next post, I’ll be answering the 10 questions posed by Dawn from Dawnyhosking, so look out for that!

39 Responses to “Dearest Beloved, we are gathered here today….”

  1. teeks55 October 19, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Congrats times four!!! 🙂

  2. Aly c October 19, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Hi I also suffer from ME and have had it for ten years. I’ve recently stumbled across your blog and am following 😉 Look forward to reading your posts. Aly @perfectisamyth.blogspot.co.uk

    • myjourneythrume October 19, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      Hi Aly, thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I shall definitely check out yours 🙂

  3. Jumping_Jenny_444 October 19, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    Congrats on your four awards!! I enjoyed reading the answers to your questions, and if I had more energy I’d be doing the Hokey Pokey! 😉

    • myjourneythrume October 19, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks Jenny! Yes I sung along to the Hokey Pokey but didn’t have the energy to do the dance moves! My answers to your questions will be up in a couple of days 🙂

      • Jumping_Jenny_444 October 19, 2013 at 10:16 am #

        Awesome! 🙂

  4. dawnhosking October 19, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    Congratulations on a very well deserved 4 awards – you do deserve those as your blog is just brilliant and accessible. A great resource to anyone with the illness and a pleasure to read if not. Well done xx

    • myjourneythrume October 19, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      Thank you Dawn, that means a lot. My answers to your ten questions will be up in a few days 🙂 xx

      • dawnhosking October 19, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

        I look forward to that, no rush though – you take your time xx

  5. currankentucky October 19, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Super congrats!!!!! Four nominations! Wowsers!!!! And a huge thank you for the nomination! What a nice surprise on a Saturday morning! xx

    • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you!!!! Glad I was able to give you a nice surprise, you really deserve it. I love the way you write and treat ME as your friend/foe. It makes the experience of this blasted illness so much more accessible and light-hearted, which all of us in this boat appreciate greatly I think.

  6. thehomeschoolingdoctor October 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Congratulations! And much deserved! Thank you for the nomination, and I love your well-chosen words, “suboptimal.” Ahem. The lawyer in you. 🙂

    • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

      I was going for medical! Tho I guess I did rather stray into the legal! Thank you and you deserve the nomination, I love your passion for food and that we share the same belief of the power of food. You are such a refreshing breath of fresh air compared to so many doctors 🙂

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor October 20, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

        “Politically correct” terminology, I’d call it! Ha! You chose such a nice way to call a physiologic problem! Anyhow, thank you! You’re not so bad, yourself, for a lawyer. (Wink!) Have a great Sunday finish!

      • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

        Thanks! Bed time here. I know being a lawyer is the worst profession to be in! Like ever! A lawyer and a banker, we are a bad couple! Technically I am a lawyer tho not having worked for nearly 3 years means I know very little law…. Enjoy the rest of your lovely weekend you doctor people you!

  7. Just Another F-Bomb October 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Congratulations and well deserved!

  8. celestedimilla October 19, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

    Congrats!! You deserve all four awards and more!! I love the Vivian Greene quote that you shared. That’s the kind of inspiration I need to remind myself of every day!! Celeste 🙂

    • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Thank you Celeste 🙂 That quote has been pertinent to me at so many points during my illness, it’s a good mantra to live by I think.

  9. BONNIE JOHNSON October 20, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    WELL–THE HOKEY POKEY WOULDN’T BE THE HARDEST DANCE WE COULD DO!! I JUST SAW AN 86 YR OLD GYMNAST–AMAZING!! CONGRATULATIONS–YOU SO DESERVE THIS AWARD–MY FAVE BLOG BY FAR! BUT I COULDN’T EVEN LIST 10 BLOGS, AS I DON’T EVEN HAVE THAT MANY & YES THEY R CERTAINLY EXPECTING A LOT OF YOU! YOU R A WINNER IN MY BOOKS, FOR SURE! XXX

    • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Thank you so much Bonnie, that means the world to me, I’m so glad you enjoy my blog 🙂 xxx

  10. Claire October 20, 2013 at 4:09 am #

    Congratulations, the awards are well deserved – I really enjoy reading about how you deal with your cfs – you have a pragmatic approach, but you still have joy and hope, always very inspiring to read!
    And thanks for the nomination – I’m very flattered and touched!

    • myjourneythrume October 20, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Thank you Claire, that means so much to me 🙂 And you fully deserve the nomination, I love reading your blog, I could say the same lovely things about you and your approach to your illness, positive, pragmatic and inspiring 🙂

  11. E. Milo October 21, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    You absolutely deserve all those awards and more! I never want to miss a post.:) thank you so much for the nomination and the kind words. It might take me a little while to answer your questions, but I’ll get there eventually!

    • myjourneythrume November 30, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

      No rush or pressure from me ever. I’m glad you took your time, absolutely no point in pushing yourself over posting sooner, though I know that’s easier said than done!

  12. Hayley-Eszti October 23, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    Wooo Congrats!! 😀

  13. Michelle October 26, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Love the Hokey Pokey video! Love your inspirational quote, it’s one of my favorites as well! Congrats on your quadruple awesomeness!

  14. E. Milo November 11, 2013 at 2:51 am #

    Answered your nomination and commented:

    I want to thank Jess at My Journey Thru ME and Marie at CurranKentucky for nominating me for the Liebster Award and for the kind words they said about my blog on their posts ~ I’m very flattered!

    Jess lives in London with her husband (boyfriend?) and had to leave her job as a solicitor after coming down with ME almost 3 years ago. Her blog is inspiring, informative and upbeat. She is currently experiencing a bit of energy revival and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for her.

    • myjourneythrume November 15, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      I really enjoyed reading your awards post Elizabeth. Hope you’re doing as well as you can. Even tho I’ve not been blogging I’ve been following your blog and thinking of you xx

      • E. Milo November 24, 2013 at 1:31 am #

        Thank you for reading! I’m thinking about you, too. I hope hope hope you are still feeling the energy. X

      • myjourneythrume November 30, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

        I am I am! It’s still early days but I am doing so much better than I was before. It is amazing. I hope you’re doing okay and had a wonderful thanksgiving. Jess xx

      • E. Milo December 7, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

        No Thanksgiving celebration here, unfortunately~ too sick~ but, I’m holding out hope for next year.
        So happy to read about your journey this last month! X

      • myjourneythrume December 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

        I’m so sorry to hear that Elizabeth. I hope things are improving for you xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster #3: dream houses, cups of tea and sisterly admiration | my journey thru M.E. - October 23, 2013

    […] third nomination for the Liebster Award came from Jenny at My Fibrotastic Life. Jenn suffers from Fibromyalgia, a chronic pain condition […]

  2. Fourth & Final Liebster Award: Cars, Cambridge & Kindess! | my journey thru M.E. - October 25, 2013

    […] over at Julie’s Spoonful of Sugar was my fourth and final nomination for the Liebster Award. Julie suffers from Fibromylagia and blogs about life with a chronic illness as well as much more […]

  3. Award Season | Rag and Bone Shop of the Heart - November 11, 2013

    […] want to thank Jess at My Journey Thru ME and Marie at CurranKentucky for nominating me for the Liebster Award and for the kind words they […]

Leave a comment