Big News

11 Jun

This post has been a long time coming. I’ve written it so many times in my head but somehow not managed to get pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard as it is. Some fear or suspicion has stopped me from sharing until now, hence the radio silence on my blog over the last few months.

But I’m delighted to tell you that I am pregnant, 22 weeks no less! We had our anatomy scan this week and all is well. I am carrying a beautiful bouncy baby girl! Mr B and I are so happy and can’t wait to meet our daughter. She is due on October 12th, the day after Mr B’s birthday. He is hoping she is early and arrives in time to share his own birth date, though I’m not sure we have any control over that!!

Being pregnant is incredibly special for me as back when I was so ill with ME/CFS, as close friends had babies, I was often brought to tears over whether I would ever be well enough to have a child or whether my body would behave and allow me to conceive. I have always known I wanted to have children and be a mother. That feeling has only become stronger, the older I have become. So it was with immense joy and relief that we found out I was pregnant.

Being pregnant is helping me to rebuild trust with my body, something that I lost through the worst years of ME/CFS. Pregnancy is magical and leaves me in many ways in awe of my body, I am after all growing a little person inside me!

So how has my pregnancy been so far? In some respects I’ve been really lucky and am having a really easy pregnancy – no morning sickness just nausea for the first couple of months but in other ways it has been pretty challenging – I suffered with a lot of bleeding weeks 7 – 15 which naturally caused a lot of worry and stress which in turn exacerbated my ME/CFS symptoms. I had a month or more of really not feeling very good and not being up to doing much at all. Now things, touch wood, have settled, my only real complaint is fatigue. It is hard to tell if this is ME/CFS fatigue or pregnancy tiredness, probably a combination. I’m dealing with it by resting a lot and taking much needed afternoon naps. So mostly I’m doing really well. Touch wood, long may it continue.

In the hope that my experience can help others, I plan to write more about my pregnancy and how my ME/CFS is reacting to it. But for now, I’ll leave you with a first photo of our Little Miss!

© My Journey Thru ME 2016

© Jess Bruce 2016

19 Responses to “Big News”

  1. oliviajaneuk June 11, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    Congratulations!

  2. Adele June 11, 2016 at 9:27 am #

    Oh what wonderful news, congratulations to you both

  3. thehomeschoolingdoctor June 11, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    I am so happy to hear this! Thank you! She is gorgeous! Enjoy every second of it! (Except when you don’t 🙂 ) Enjoy the maternity clothes. The openness of people to you in this state. The anticipation. The QUIET! (THE QUIET!!!) Eat nutrient dense! I could go on and on! Blessings!!!!

    Terri

    • myjourneythrume June 12, 2016 at 6:55 am #

      Thank you Terri! I am making the most of every moment, loving the clothes and definitely making the most of the peace and quiet!!! Jess

  4. Victoria June 11, 2016 at 5:28 pm #

    HUGE congratulations!! I have been worrying about how I’ll manage starting a family having CFS and all, so this is so wonderful to see. Looking forward to more updates. ❤ xx

    • myjourneythrume June 12, 2016 at 6:53 am #

      Thank you! I worried for a long time too. Hope my news gives you hope.

  5. Lindsay June 11, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

    Wonderful!!! Congratulations!!

  6. babycrow June 11, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    wonderful news, Jess. I wish you well. Sounds as though you’re looking after yourself (and the bump) well! x

  7. The Pollyanna Plan June 12, 2016 at 11:43 am #

    I couldn’t be happier to read your wonderful news!!! I’m so, so, SO excited for you. HUGE congrats to you and Mr B. Lots of love to you both…and to beautiful baby bump too. xx

    • myjourneythrume June 12, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Thank you so much! Your comment made me smile a lot 😊 baby bump is growing by the day! Xx

  8. Elizabeth Milo June 18, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    I’m gobsmacked! Well done and congratulations! This is so exciting. 😍

  9. Della Lium September 24, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

    Is the diet for IBS and diverticulitis the same?

    • myjourneythrume October 4, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

      Not having a diagnosis for diverticulitis I’ve never looked into so i can’t say I’m afraid.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An ME/CFS Pregnancy | my journey thru M.E. - June 18, 2016

    […] you so much for all your lovely comments on my last post about my baby news. It was so nice to hear from you both here on my blog and via social […]

Leave a Reply

