Fourth & Final Liebster Award: Cars, Cambridge & Kindess!

25 Oct

liebsterJulie over at Julie’s Spoonful of Sugar was my fourth and final nomination for the Liebster Award. Julie suffers from Fibromylagia and blogs about life with a chronic illness as well as much more besides. She has an online shop where she sells her handmade soaps. I love seeing posts of Julie’s soaps, she makes them in so many different shapes and colours. Julie is a great example of making the most of life and not letting a chronic illness get in your way.

Thank you Julie for your nomination, I am touched and honoured to have received it. When I started this blog I had no expectations as to who would read it or if anyone would! So to now have loyal readers who even nominate me for awards means the world to me 🙂

1. What is your earliest childhood memory?

Looking round the house, that was to become our family home, for the first time, with my Mum, Dad and sister. I remember the colour of the carpet (beige/cream) and the layout of the furniture in the lounge – the sofa was pushed back up against the wall whereas my parents have bookshelves lining the wall so the sofa sits forward slightly. I was two and a half I think at the time.  Odd what you remember!

2. If you were an animal, what would you be?

An Impala, photo source: animalstown.com

An Impala, photo source: animalstown.com

An Impala! They are strong, graceful and quick! This was my answer to this question in the job application for my ‘current’ job as a lawyer! Probably more appropriate these days is a cat who spends all her time snoozing!

Coops! Photo credit: www.theredbicycledesigns.com

Coops Look-a-Like! Photo credit: http://www.theredbicycledesigns.com

3. What was your first car?

A red Mini Cooper with two white stripes across the bonnet, roof and boot (trunk to my American readers)! Known affectionately as ‘Coops’. Not strictly my car, technically Mr B’s but what’s his is mine and mine is mine!! Hehe! This is our first and current car. I don’t drive very much at the moment because of ME/CFS which Mr B is secretly very happy about given I reversed into a pillar the last time I drove our car….oops.

4. What is your current obsession?

I’ve already admitted to having an obsessive personality! Read my post about that here. Food and cooking are probably my current obsessions. They just pip blogging to the post I think. I am still obsessed with looking up vegan gluten free baking recipes. I’m also starting to be excited obsessive about Christmas, looking for suitable recipes etc! Yes yes I know it’s only October, but I have a lot of quiet time on my hands!!

5. What are your top three favorite hobbies or activities?

Cooking/baking, Yoga and Blogging. Not necessarily in that order.

6. What is the color scheme in your living room?

White walls, tan leather sofa and chairs and oak furniture with a smattering of blue, white and red cushions (I may be a little obsessed with Union Jack Patterns – I’m not overly patriotic, I just like the ‘clean’ colours….)

7. Do you consider yourself an auditory, visual, or kinistetic learner?

I little of all three, but probably a little more visual than anything else.

New Court from the Backs of the River Cam. Photos courtesy of St. John's College, Cambridge Official Website: www.joh.cam.ac.uk

My Cambridge College Photo courtesy of St. John’s College, Cambridge Official Website: http://www.joh.cam.ac.uk

8. What one event has most influenced your life?

Getting the grades to go to Cambridge University as an undergraduate – it gave me the opportunity to earn a wonderful degree which helped me springboard into a good job. It’s also where I met Mr B and ten years on, we are still together, so I think that’s a pretty big influence! ME/CFS is also having a pretty large influence on my life. It has really changed me as a person and made me stop and re-evaluate what I want from life. It has resulted in so many changes both in me as a person as well as significant practical changes such as where Mr B and I bought our first home together. I would say that my illness is the biggest influence on my life but as I’m still living through it’s full influence is not yet clear as I’m still living with it’s ramifications which change and develop everyday.

9. Do you prefer salty or sweet snacks?

Can I say both?! Ready salted crisps with a cube of chocolate is very nice!! I guess it depends on my mood, sometimes I like salty and other times all I want is sweetness.

10. What random act of kindness by someone took you most by surprise?

I’m finding it really hard to think of an answer to this one; which makes me sad in a way. Kindness is so important. I remember a time when I was on the Underground tube train with my Mum in rush hour. This was over two years ago, fairly early on in my illness when I had no idea of how to manage it, i.e. I was still working, commuting by Tube etc. Stupid! But that’s a whole other post. Anyway, the train was really busy, Mum and I were having to stand in the aisle and a guy offered my Mum his seat. My Mum replied ‘thank you I won’t but my daughter needs to sit down as she is not well’ so I got to sit down. My Mum and I joked afterwards that she had entered that phase of life where people gave up their seats for you. My Mum is a feisty 62 year old, who is anything but a little old lady needing a seat despite her grey/white hair! So that was a lovely act of kindness and I guess it goes to show the society we live in now where people to do not always give up their seats for older women which is where the element of surprise comes in. 

16 Responses to “Fourth & Final Liebster Award: Cars, Cambridge & Kindess!”

  1. dawnhosking October 25, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Congratulations 😉

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor October 25, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Was that really an interview question? That’s funny. Good job with it all. Hope your weekend is cozy.

    • myjourneythrume October 28, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Yep it really was. And that really was my answer! My weekend was wonderful, hope yours was too.

  3. Just Another F-Bomb October 25, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Loved reading your answers, congratulations!!

  4. currankentucky October 25, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

    An Impala, pretty cool, hope you are jumping about today!! xx

    • myjourneythrume October 28, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      I actually have been! Amazing! Hope you’re doing good? xx

      • currankentucky October 29, 2013 at 10:15 am #

        Great to hear!!! I’m doing ok, better than I was at the weekend!! xx

  5. juliasarahelizabeth October 25, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    That is cool . . . An impala! Love it!

  6. BONNIE JOHNSON October 26, 2013 at 5:07 am #

    REALLY ENJOYING YOUR ANSWERS.
    FYI–EXCEPT FOR THE ODD ONE, CARS IN AMERICA WOULD HAVE THE TRUNK IN THE BACK & YOUR TRUNK WOULD BE THE HOOD! LOL.
    I WISH I WAS STILL ”INSPIRED” TO COOK. I STARTED MAKING MEALS WHEN I GOT MARRIED AT 19 & I’M NOW 68, SO I’M TIRED OF COOKING…. I USED TO BE KNOWN AS ”A GOOD COOK”, & FOR MY FABULOUS PIES & BUNS. BUT SINCE GETTING CFS, IT’S MUCH HARDER TO MANAGE EVEN SIMPLE MEALS, LET ALONE HAVING PEOPLE OVER THE WAY I USED TO. NOT ENOUGH ENERGY OR ”MOTIVATION”! GOD BLESS, BJ.

    • myjourneythrume October 28, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

      Our car boots are in the back too. Engines are in the hood. I think anyway, I know little about cars!!Totally relate to the hard work of cooking and entertaining with CFS. Not easy at all. Hope you’re having a good week so far. Jess

      • BONNIE JOHNSON October 28, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

        IF U WERE MY FRIEND ON FACEBOOK, I COULD SHOW YOU ALL MY FLOWERS & YARD THIS SUMMER. IT LOOKS LOVELY DESPITE THE VERY LITTLE CARE I’M ABLE TO GIVE IT!!

  7. celestedimilla November 5, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Mini Cooper’s are the coolest cars, especially red ones with white stripes!! 🙂

    • myjourneythrume November 15, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Hehe! They are very cute and as they are so small it makes parking a lot easier!!

Leave a Reply

