Liebster #3: dream houses, cups of tea and sisterly admiration

23 Oct

liebsterMy third nomination for the Liebster Award came from Jenny at My Fibrotastic Life. Jenn suffers from Fibromyalgia, a chronic pain condition similar in many ways to ME/CFS.  Jenn, like me, does not let her illness rule her life though. I admire her tenacity and strength at seeing the positives and the blessings chronic illness can teach us if we take time be mindful and stop and listen.

So I want to say a HUGE thank you to Jenny for nominating me for the Liebster Award, it means a lot, thank you 🙂

And now without further ado, here are my answers to Jenn’s ten questions. Here we go, lets reveal a few more secrets about me!

1.      If you had $1,000,000, what would you do?

I would buy a really nice big house with my dream open plan kitchen living area and big garden. Though with London house prices as ridiculously high as they are, the house wouldn’t be able to be that big or at least not in a desirable area for $1,000,000! But hey a girl can dream!

2.      Are you more of a tea or coffee person?

Tea all the way! I was never a big coffee drinker but with ME/CFS caffeine is not my friend so coffee is now avoided at all costs, as is ‘builders’ / normal black tea. I love green and white tea, jasmine and rooibosch. I drink too many cups a day to count!

3.      What is your favorite Disney movie?

I’m really not a Disney movie person. I never was even as a child. Freak, I know! Though I did work one summer at DisneyLand Paris, does that redeem me?

Sisters doing it for themselves! Photo copyright Jess B.

Sisters doing it for themselves! Photo copyright Jess B.

4.      What was your favorite childhood game?

Playing house with my sister Lou. I can see us now in our playroom pretending to make dinner and look after our babies! Though I always had to be Mum – which I think annoyed her!

5.      Who do you look up to and why?

Technically I can’t ‘look’ up to her because she is in fact younger and shorter than me! But I look up and admire my sister Lou so much. She is one of the most caring, bright, brave, positive, honest and courageous people I know. Lou moved to a whole new country (the US) to a city (Philadelphia) where she knew no one 5 years ago for Grad school and has established a full life there. If that doesn’t take courage I don’t know what does.  She shows me that anything is possible if you want it enough. In the last few years more than ever I have looked up and relied on her during my illness. Despite being 3000 miles away, Lou is always there for me and I look up to her so much. 

6.      What kind of color would you describe yourself as today?

Blue with patches of red. Blue to illustrate an overall peace and calm with the red showing up areas of flaring pain (neck, ankles and low back especially).

7.      If you could go to any country in the world, which country would it be?

Oh gosh this is a tough one. Probably Australia, though I’d also love to go to South America (realize that’s a continent and not a country!)

8.      Think of one descriptive word about yourself that begins with the first letter in your name. 

Joyful

Bananas! High soluble fibre, IBS friendly. Image credit: morgue file user kconnors.

I Love Bananas! Image credit: morgue file user kconnors.

9.      What is your favorite food?

This is a very difficult question for a food lover like me! Peanut butter, dark chocolate, bananas, brown rice, mashed potatoes, granola, cake (gluten free, dairy free, vegan of course!). It’s too hard to pick just one!

10.  What type of exercise is your favorite?

Yoga all the way. Pretty much the only exercise my ME/CFS addled body lets me do. Yoga with a little walking thrown in for good measure.

So there we have it, my answers to Jenny’s ten questions in honour of the Liebster Award.  To check out my other nominators and my own nominees for this prestigious award check out this post.

5 Responses to “Liebster #3: dream houses, cups of tea and sisterly admiration”

  1. Sinead and ME October 23, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Want to say thank you for stopping by my blog. Your blog was the very first I ever followed and has been my favourite. Was such a nice surprise to wake up to.

  2. dawnhosking October 23, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    Congratulations 😉

  3. Jumping_Jenny_444 October 23, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Congratulations!! I love your answers to the questions (and your pictures as well!). Was it fun to work at Disneyland Paris? That job sounds pretty neat, but with the fibro, it’s most certainly not a happening thing for me! 😉

  4. currankentucky October 23, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Congrats again! I really enjoyed reading your answers! xx

  5. Jumping_Jenny_444 October 23, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Hello! I have nominated you for the “Unique Leaves Award” since your blog is very special to me! To find out more information on this award, click the link below. Congratulations!! Jenn xx
    http://myfibrotasticlife.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/its-time-for-the-jennys-part-3/

Leave a Reply

