Honeymoon Hiatus

10 Nov
4 mile beach Port Douglas, Queensland. © www.pddt.com.au

4 mile beach Port Douglas, Queensland. We’ll be walking down it this week! © http://www.pddt.com.au

As you read this I will be having a restful last day at home before heading to the airport. Or I’ll be frantically trying to close suitcases and ticking off my to-do list. I’ll leave it up to you to decide which scenario is more likely…

Either way, today is the day we leave the UK for our 4 week honeymoon to Australia and New Zealand. I am so excited, I literally can’t wait to be on that plane! Even if it is the start of 20 hours of flying. But it’ll be worth it once we’re there. 4 weeks of sun, relaxation, sightseeing and visiting friends. We booked our flights way back in January so this trip has been a long time coming.

Marlborough Sounds New Zealand where we will visit with our Kiwi friends from Wellington © newzealandtravel.org

Marlborough Sounds New Zealand where we will visit with our Kiwi friends from Wellington © newzealandtravel.org

Although we got married back in August, we made the conscious decision to delay our honeymoon until the Autumn, partly to spread out the joy, partly because our chosen destination is in the southern hemisphere but mostly to let me rest and recover post wedding so I was as full of health and energy as possible before we set off on our trip; a minor concession to ME/CFS which has worked out perfectly.

See you soon Sydney! © www.sydney.com

See you soon Sydney!
© http://www.sydney.com

Whilst we’re away I won’t be blogging. I intended to be more organised and have posts written and scheduled in advance but that hasn’t happened. Life has got in the way. But come December, once we’re back and I’m over any jet lag, I’ll be back to blogging.

Daintree Rainforest waterfalls and walks © www.capetribbeach.com.au

Daintree Rainforest waterfalls and walks © http://www.capetribbeach.com.au

Until then, you can picture me relaxing on the beach in the Whitsunday Islands, snorkelling in the Great Barrier Reef, sampling Marlborough sauvignon blancs in New Zealand, seeing the sights in Sydney, exploring the rainforest and waterfalls of Northern Queensland and generally having the time of my life!

Bye for now!

Jess x

8 Responses to “Honeymoon Hiatus”

  1. Rose November 10, 2015 at 10:27 am #

    Have a wonderful time, Jess. Sounds like a real trip of a lifetime.

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor November 10, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

    Can’t wait when you get back and settled to heal all about it! I’m hoping it’s “calmly” packing and getting situated and not “frantically!” Savor every moment!—Terri

    • myjourneythrume November 11, 2015 at 12:14 pm #

      Thank you Terri! It was, I’m happy to report, more calm than frantic. Currently half way there, at Hong Kong waiting for our connecting flight. Hope all’s good and study is going well. Jess

  3. Melissa November 10, 2015 at 6:53 pm #

    Enjoy! I live in Auckland NZ and I LOVE it here 🙂

    • myjourneythrume November 11, 2015 at 12:13 pm #

      Thanks! We’re not making it to Auckland this time but excited to see Wellington.

  4. silencekilledthedinosaurs November 16, 2015 at 1:46 am #

    I also plan to honeymoon in New Zealand! Not Australia though, because I already live here. Have a wonderful, relaxing time! And I hope you particularly enjoy Australia.

    • myjourneythrume December 14, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

      Thank you! We had an amazing time, loved both countries but especially the diversity of Australia. Happy honeymoon planning!

Leave a Reply

