Tikka Style Monkfish

29 Aug
Tikka style monkfish on the BBQ © Jess Bruce 2015

Tikka style monkfish on the BBQ © Jess Bruce 2015

Lots of people have asked me, if I am enjoying married life. My answer, a resounding yes.

The thing I am enjoying most? Having time to cook again! Well, what did you expect from a girl who owns 100+ cookbooks?! Wedding prep did not leave me much time, or energy, for creativity in the kitchen. Thank goodness for a freezer full of leftovers!

Mr B is enjoying the fact I have the time, and more importantly, the energy to cook again too. He certainly doesn’t complain when he arrives back from work to a home cooked meal each evening.

Given the past 5 days of torrential rain, gusty winds and autumnal temperatures that the UK has just endured, it is hard to believe that just last weekend, we saw temperatures of 30ºC here in the south east of England. Global warming at full throttle I guess. Mr B and I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner outside on the patio which was glorious. We are still loving the novelty of having a big, peaceful, garden after the last few years of living in our flat with a view from the window of busy inner city railway lines!

We made the most of the sunny weather by having a BBQ – good job too because within 12 hours it was pouring down with rain. As the summer has progressed, we have graduated from the standard (but delicious) burgers and sausages to more adventurous BBQ meals; prawn kebabs, marinated rump steaks cooked medium rare and so on. This Tikka style monkfish was, hands-down, our best BBQ yet.

Grilled on the BBQ: carrots, asparagus, corn on the cob and Tikka style monkfish. © Jess Bruce 2015

All grilled on the BBQ: carrots, asparagus, corn on the cob and Tikka style monkfish. © Jess Bruce 2015

Dead simple to prepare – mix the marinade ingredients together and slather them all over the fish and leave to marinate for a couple of hours (the longer the better). And then whack it  delicately place it on the BBQ with a squeeze of lime and grill for 7-9 minutes each side. Et Voila – dinner is served. And of course if your weather is more akin to the typical British summer, this dish would be just as good grilled or baked in an oven. You would miss out on the gorgeous smokey charred crust akin to an Indian tandoor  that cooking over charcoal gives the fish. But nonetheless it would still be delicious and will definitely be something I do when it is no longer BBQ weather here (i.e. from now).

We used a whole monkfish tail, but I think the marinade would work equally well with chunky fish steaks such as salmon or tuna or whole fish such as sea bream or snapper. BBQ-ing a whole fish is my next challenge.

We paired the fish with grilled veggies – corn on the cob, carrots and asparagus –  and garlic rosemary potatoes, all also cooked on the BBQ. Though next time I think rice would be a good accompaniment, perhaps with a light vegetable curry and onion bhajis as the sides to make it a truly delicious Indian meal.

This was a great meal, not least, because once I’d made the marinade for the fish and prepped the vegetables, I was able to sit back with my glass of wine and watch Mr B, a.k.a BBQ king, take over – gender stereotyping clearly alive and well in our house!

Here’s the recipe:

Tikka Style Monkfish

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 30mins + marinating time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Gluten, dairy, egg, nut and soya free

Ingredients

  • 1 Monkfish tail
  • 1 lime

Marinade

  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp ginger, grated
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp curry powder (I used medium spice, increase according to taste)
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk yoghurt (or plain yoghurt of choice if not avoiding dairy)
  • Salt and pepper

Steps

  1. Mix the marinade ingredients together in a small bowl
  2. Coat the fish on all sides with the marinade
  3. Cover the fish and refrigerate until ready to cook.
  4. Lightly oil your BBQ rack
  5. Once your BBQ is hot (we let ours get up to 200ºC), place the fish directly on the rack and squeeze half the lime over it. Cook for 7 – 9 minutes each side.
  6. Check the fish is piping hot in the centre next to the tail bone (if not cook for a further 2 minutes and check again)
  7. Squeeze the remaining lime over the fish before serving. The flesh should be soft, white and moist but still holding its meaty shape, with a nice charred crust on the outside.

Serve with your choice of vegetables, rice or potatoes. We made rosemary garlic potatoes using this recipe, though I parboiled the potatoes first for 5 minutes.

If you make this, I’d love to know what you think, please comment below.

What are your favorite BBQ meals? I’m always on the lookout for new recipes to try – by try I mean cooking indoors, unless we get an Indian summer in September so we can eek out BBQ time a little longer. Always live in hope!

3 Responses to “Tikka Style Monkfish”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor September 3, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    I have not seen monkfish here. I wonder if this would work with mahi mahi. I think I will try. When I do, I will try to come back and let you know! I have TONS of cookbooks too! TONS! And recipes falling out of binders and little nooks in my kitchen. About the time I get them all organized, I’ve accumulated more! So I am feelin’ ya’! So glad you are out of town. Is the commute horrible for your husband?

    • myjourneythrume September 4, 2015 at 9:43 am #

      I think it would work with mahi mahi, we don’t get that here but I ate in the US, let me know how it goes. I have binders of recipes and magazine cuttings coming out of my ears too! I owe you an email I know, I will reply, I haven’t forgotten! The commute is 40 mins on a good day, unfortunately British trains aren’t often good. But it’s worth it to live out of the city. What’s your husband’s commute like? Does he work locally?

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor September 4, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

        Haha! Our town is tiny! Five-10 minutes to anywhere in town! Forty minutes sounds so long after living out of the city for a long time! No worries about the email. None at all!

Leave a Reply

