A New Home

10 Apr
The stained glass window in our hall, I love how it's sunshine, so positive and uplifting.  Β© Jess Bruce 2015.

The stained glass window in our hall, I love how it’s sunshine, so positive and uplifting. Β© Jess Bruce 2015.

Hello from our new house!

We are all moved in and very happy in our new home.

The move itself went amazingly smoothly, despite our moving company sending a truck that was too small! We are largely unpacked and thanks to my amazing Mum and Mr B, the house is clean and already feels like ours. Mum blitzed every room and Mr B cleaned all the carpets – I supervised πŸ˜‰

Our new kitchen. About 6 times the size of our old one! Β© Jess Bruce 2015.

Our new kitchen. About 5 times the size of our old one! Β© Jess Bruce 2015.

We are loving our new life in the suburbs, it’s so nice waking up to trees outside the window rather than a busy road and train line. I am completely in love with my new kitchen, the red Range cooker and I are already well acquainted and having all my recipe books out on display and easily accessible is making me so happy – pretty much the first piece of furniture I insisted we buy was a new bookshelf for the kitchen! Having a garden and outside washing line is a joy! Simple things…

My pride and joy, cookbooks bookshelf :-) Β© Jess Bruce 2015

My pride and joy, cookbooks bookshelf πŸ™‚ And still space to add some more to my collection!Β© Jess Bruce 2015

We did the stereotypical suburban thing over the long Easter weekend with multiple trips to our local DIY superstore and IKEA (my advice to you, never go to these places on a bank holiday). We are now the proud owners of a lawnmower and hosepipe! We also enjoyed a lovely country walk in our new area and tried out our new local pub – which I’m happy to report is amazingly allergen aware, providing gluten free dairy free bread, pizzas and even gravy on their roast lunch.

So all is good on the home front.

Health wise things are a little lot more shaky. After several very stressful and busy months, I guess it was inevitable that ME/CFS would catch up with me at some point. And it would seem our Easter weekend activities tipped me over the line (hopefully not the point of no return…) and I’m more symptomatic this week than I have been since my emergency retreat back to my parents in February. Fatigue and myalgia have both spiked. I’m trying hard not to panic and to use the Lighting Process to curb my symptoms.

Magnolia tree in our garden Β© Jess Bruce 2015

Magnolia tree in our garden Β© Jess Bruce 2015

Life tends to get in the way of managing a chronic illness and if I’ve ignored things for too long then my ME/CFS gets louder and louder until I’m forced to take notice and stop. It seems I’m at that point now. It’s not that I intend to push myself too far, I think it’s human nature (or my nature at least) to keep going whilst I’m feeling okay. That’s the hard thing. Okay masks a lot and is a bit like skating on thin ice. So it’s back to listening to my body and putting it first – this seems to be a pattern of my recovery…a bit boom and bust, think I need to reacquaint myself with the concept of pacing.

It’s just very hard when life is so busy – whose idea was it to move house and get married in the same 6 months?!

I’m yet to get my camera out and take proper photos of our new surroundings so for now I hope you like these few snaps from my iPhone.

17 Responses to “A New Home”

  1. Su Phillips April 10, 2015 at 8:17 am #

    Well done you!!! Wow is the only comment to your stained glass window I would’ve had the house for that alone so I can imagine how beautiful the rest is. I love your insights into your life it so often mirrors feelings I’ve had always comforting to not feel alone. Yes human nature does make us carry on and ignore the warnings I’ve done it this week with this beautiful but oh so annoying sunny weather!!!! I’m now having to have a few bed days to recover. Really need to learn don’t we. Hmmm marriage and moving. Well one down one to go!!!! Try to relax and enjoy the trees inbetween. Xxxx

    • myjourneythrume April 10, 2015 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks for your lovely comment Su. Hearing that others feel the same is one of the nicest things about writing my blog, it’s comforting for me to know I’m not alone and I’m glad to hear you find it the same. Hope your bed rest is helping. Sunshine makes life seem so much better but it also spurs on over activity doesn’t it?! I am very much enjoying the trees πŸ™‚ xxx

  2. Mum April 10, 2015 at 8:18 am #

    Great post, love the photos. Hope you are doing ok, and not suffering to much. Do listen to your body, don’t do too much and rest lots .Everything can wait. Have a nice day with El, take care. Loves you lots and lots. Mum xxxx😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

    >

    • myjourneythrume April 10, 2015 at 9:35 am #

      Awh thanks Mum. I am being sensible, haven’t done any unpacking this week πŸ™‚ I feel better today than I did yesterday. Doing lots of Lightning Process. Hope you get your phone back today, it’s weird not being able to text you! Love you loads xxxx

    • skd September 30, 2015 at 11:01 am #

      You are just like my mom. Exactly what she would tell me. Moms are the best πŸ’•

      • myjourneythrume September 30, 2015 at 11:36 am #

        They really are, I’d be lost without mine πŸ™‚

  3. eledacats April 10, 2015 at 12:21 pm #

    well done– your new home sounds and looks lovely and will be so good for you. just need a little time to get back to your functional level again. Your right to listen to your body– wish I listen to mine more often, but I’ve a bit of spring fever at the moment think I can do more than I can!!! but the suns shining and I want to be off. lol. But still early days for me I suppose. Time now to be and think of all the lovely things you can cook in your new kitchen. Not sure if you have got deliciously ella’s book– well worth getting if you haven’t already got it. take care xxxx

  4. currankentucky April 10, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

    Enjoy the sunrises and sunsets and moonrises and moonsets and animals and the changing trees… enjoy it all!! I love going for a meditative walk around my garden, moving really slowly, taking note of Everything… πŸ™‚

  5. triciaruth April 10, 2015 at 7:19 pm #

    I’ve always found the reading-the-signs-and-slowing-down-before-a-crash times the hardest. With my recent move & new job I’ve struggled to take the few complete rest days I’ve needed them (I hate having to sit quietly when I want to get on with the garden!) but in taking them I’ve managed to prevent any serious set backs. Keep going, it’s a fine line to know when to push on and when to hold back but it does get easier over time.

    • BONNIE JOHNSON April 11, 2015 at 12:46 am #

      WHAT’S A JOB?? LOL.

  6. Lindsay April 10, 2015 at 8:15 pm #

    new home looks great! congrats!

  7. Miss P April 11, 2015 at 1:15 am #

    Enjoy your new home =)

  8. thehomeschoolingdoctor April 15, 2015 at 2:25 am #

    Your home looks awesome! Congrats! Now get those body systems back under control. πŸ™‚ You will. It’s totally different, but I always overeat my food intolerances when I’m feeling good. Every darn time. Feel great. I can eat that…

  9. ClareLisa April 26, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

    May I ask what is the Lightning process?

    • myjourneythrume April 27, 2015 at 8:00 am #

      Hi Clare, It’s an NLP based training programme focused on the mind body connection unlocking negative patterns improving your health. Find out more at the official site: http://lightningprocess.com

  10. skd September 30, 2015 at 10:58 am #

    Beautiful home. Love your kitchen and the Sunshine window. All the best and stay blessed! !

Leave a Reply

