Leaving London Town

26 Mar
Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament at dusk. © Jess Bruce 2015. All rights reserved.

Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament at dusk. © Jess Bruce 2015. All rights reserved.

All being well, this will be the last post I write from our flat in London. Tomorrow is scheduled to be the day we complete on our flat sale and house purchase. It is the long awaited moving day!

I have lived in central London since July 2006 when I graduated from Uni and moved here to go to Law School. Mr B joined me a year later.

For the last 4 years we have lived in our flat in East London. Tomorrow we move 11 miles south from here to Chislehurst, a small town just on the border between the outskirts of Greater London and the county of Kent. It is definitely the suburbs with bigger houses and lots more greenery than we have here. Although we are not moving geographically that far, it is going to be quite a life change with a whole new lifestyle opened for us. I’m so excited about it, not least because the kitchen at the new house is huge and we will have our own garden. We have loved our time in London, but now we are looking to the future and ready for the next step.

I also see this move as another big step forward in my recovery from ME/CFS. I was severely ill when we moved here back in 2011, totally confused, lost and scared by my diagnosis of ME/CFS. It has been our home as we have charted my journey thru ME/CFS. And although, my illness is still a part of our lives, it feels like we are a drawing a line in the sand in leaving here. The worst years are over and the best is yet to come!

I hope to be able to keep blogging in the next few weeks but with unpacking and getting internet connected at the house, that may not be possible. But I will be back as soon as I can! For now I will leave you with a few pictures of London. I took these last year when we went for a ride on the London Eye. Enjoy.

The London Eye, River Thames and Big Ben © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

The London Eye, River Thames and Big Ben © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

The Shard, London's tallest building © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

The Shard, London’s tallest building with the towers of Canary Wharf in the background © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Big Ben clock face © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Big Ben clock face © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Big Ben and Westminster Abbey © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Big Ben and Westminster Abbey © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Buckingham Palace in the distance. © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

Buckingham Palace in the distance. © Jess Bruce 2015. All Rights Reserved

14 Responses to “Leaving London Town”

  1. BONNIE JOHNSON March 26, 2015 at 8:44 am #

    JUST BEAUTIFUL JESS. GOOD LUCK WITH THE MOVE. I KNOW U’LL LOVE THAT KITCHEN & HAVING A GARDEN! BLESS YOU & ALL THAT IS TO COME! BJ.

  2. SahibaKaurPhotography March 26, 2015 at 10:42 am #

    beautiful!

  3. currankentucky March 26, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

    Happy new chapter to you!!! xx

  4. eledacats March 26, 2015 at 4:02 pm #

    lovely pics — I can count on one hand how many times I have been to London– LOl maybe one day try as a tourist — but I’m really country gal. Congrats on your new home and I hope the move goes smoothly — xx

    • myjourneythrume March 26, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

      Thank you! Thank you! I am looking forward to being a bit further out of the city that’s for sure. 😊 xx

  5. Jackie March 26, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

    Your pictures are gorgeous! You definitely have an eye. Congratulations on the move.

    • myjourneythrume March 26, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

      Aw thank you Jackie. Hope wedding plans are going well.

  6. thehomeschoolingdoctor March 29, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

    Great pics! Good luck moving! Remember…boxes don’t need unpacked in two days. Or even a week. Unless others are doing it for you. Haha! I think I killed myself getting boxes unpacked and things put away last move–I wanted the kids to feel comfortable and not sad. Think I overdid it. 🙂

    • myjourneythrume March 30, 2015 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks and thanks for the reminder! I have a band of merry helpers assisting with the unpacking 😊 we’re making progress and the house already feels like ours. Moving must be super hard on kids. I’m glad we’ve got the long Easter weekend to get ourselves more settled.

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor March 30, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

        I thought it was hard on the kids. They still miss our last home and friends. But your new home sounds lovely!!!!

      • myjourneythrume March 31, 2015 at 7:57 am #

        I have to say it is! Totally in love with it!

Leave a Reply

