Hooray! It’s Today!

23 Jan
© Jess Bruce 2015

© Jess Bruce 2015

A dear friend gave me this card at my Bridal Shower and as I love the sentiment so much I thought I would share it with you.

Hooray! It’s Today! How often do we stop and acknowledge that it’s today? If you’re anything like me, the answer is not very.

All we have is today. Tomorrow is still to come and yesterday is behind us. I know I so often get caught up worrying about the future and fretting about what has gone before that I forget to acknowledge the present moment.

In the spirit of mindfulness I am going to take a moment and celebrate today. I am going to cultivate present moment awareness. I am going to be grateful for today and focus on being grounded in the now. Tomorrow I will worry focus on tomorrow.

So who’s with me? It is Friday after all, that’s enough reason to celebrate on its own!

Hooray! It’s Today!

© Jess Bruce 2015

© Jess Bruce 2015

The yellow tulips are my way of combating the greyness of January in London 🙂

Oh and I’m working on removing the date stamp from the pics. My camera and I are slowly getting to know each better!

 

8 Responses to “Hooray! It’s Today!”

  1. Kim January 23, 2015 at 9:13 am #

    Nice 🙂 I’ve started saying ‘goodbye’ at the end of the day too – just to be grateful for the good that happened and let go of the things I’m hanging onto. Makes saying hello to the next day much easier 🙂

    • myjourneythrume January 26, 2015 at 9:31 am #

      I’m trying to do the same. I used to keep a gratitude journal which I wrote in each night listing the good things of the day. I’ve got out of the habit but trying to get back into it. As you say it makes the next day so much easier 🙂

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 23, 2015 at 10:44 am #

    Great thought! And I didn’t notice the date stamps till you pointed them out! The photographs are great!

  3. Lindsay January 24, 2015 at 12:28 am #

    what a wonderful reminder to be grateful for each day. Hooray, it’s today!!

  4. Elizabeth Milo January 27, 2015 at 8:43 am #

    So, I actually do this every day. Every morning I sing my dogs a song that says, “it’s great to be alive…” and I mean it. We have a little love fest and cheer the day. When you think you’re going to die, it’s hard to take anything for granted anymore. 🙂

    • myjourneythrume January 27, 2015 at 9:10 am #

      I love this! Such positivity 🙂 It is great to be alive. And you’re right, when you’re so ill, you don’t take anything for granted 🙂

Leave a Reply

