Bridal Shower Joy

15 Jan
© Jess Bruce 2015

© Jess Bruce 2015

Saturday 10th January 2015 was a special day. It was a wonderful day. My Mum and sister threw me a bridal shower at home in my flat.

I was made asked to leave mid morning and so I went and hung out at a neighbour’s flat. She was away so I laid down and did a yoga nidra which occupied me for an hour. After that, I discovered just how bad I am at waiting! An hour or so later I was allowed back to my flat where I was greeted by my closest friends, Mum, my sister and Mr B’s Mum and sister. In my absence my Mum, sister and helpers had decorated our flat with beautiful bunting made by Mr B’s Mum, fresh flowers and lots of cute Bride to Be signs!

© Jess Bruce 2015

© Jess Bruce 2015

I was given a sash and rosette to wear sporting the words Future Mrs Smith which my sister had bought from Oh Squirrel on Etsy.  Lou had also got an apron made (see final pic) with a vintage image of a woman washing up and the caption reads ‘Mrs Smith never imagined married life would be this much fun’! Everyone signed and wrote messages on the apron with a fabric pen and once ironed to seal the writing, it is the perfect guest book. Such a good idea and one that I will cherish and use greatly.

Mimosas, both with and without alcohol © Jess Bruce 2015

Mimosas, both with and without alcohol © Jess Bruce 2015

We had a mimosa bar with a whole array of different juices and my beloved elderflower cordial and hibiscus flowers, which we mixed with prosecco to give us gorgeous sparkling cocktails. All topped off with vintage style pink and gold straws.

We played numerous fun games starting off with lets tell funny stories about Jess. Cue me cringing and hiding behind a cushion as friends regaled us with tales of me climbing into luggage racks on night buses and being asked to leave a dance floor in a night club and me responding with ‘you can’t kick me out, I’m a lawyer don’t you know’ – always a good line to try! There were many similar stories, from what seems like a previous life, pre ME/CFS as well as an infamous story in our family about me as a 7 year old asking my 5 year old little sister (who couldn’t yet swim and was wearing arm bands) to push me around our swimming pool one holiday, as I floated in a large inflatable boat… “Lou….will you push me….” Apparently there is video footage of this, I’m just hoping it doesn’t make an appearance at the wedding…. Slightly concerned that the image I have portrayed to Mr B’s mum over the years as a sensible, responsible, loving girl may have been undone in the course of one game! Tho she assured me that her son, Mr B, has done far worse and much more recently to boot!

Beautiful Menus, Flowers and Table Cloths © Jess Bruce 2015

Beautiful Menus, Flowers and Table Cloths © Jess Bruce 2015

We also played Password Bridal style. For those of you unfamiliar with Password, you’re missing out! It’s a word game similar to Articulate or Taboo. Lou had prepared lots of wedding and Jess related words which we took turns picking out of a bag and having to explain without saying the actual word(s) for our team mates to guess. Where Password comes into its own is you have a beeper as a timer that grows incessantly louder and faster as the time runs out. Whoever is holding the bag when the buzzer stops loses. It was a very fast paced frantic 45 minutes with lots of shouting, screaming and cheering. Beeeeeeeep, beeeeeep, beeeep, beep, beep, beep, bep,bep,bep!!!!!!!!!!!! The award for causing the most hilarity goes to Mr B’s mum who had to get her team to guess the phrase ‘carry the bride over the threshold’. She chose to explain it by saying ‘what Mr B will do to Jess on their wedding night’….you can imagine the laughter that followed!!! 🙂 🙂

Beautiful bunting made by Mr B's Mum.  © Jess Bruce 2015

Beautiful bunting made by Mr B’s Mum. © Jess Bruce 2015

Lou also had a ‘why do we have these wedding traditions’ worksheet quiz. She was worried it was lame. But as a bunch of lawyers, teachers, accountants and journalists, we all have an inner geek and loved the worksheet falling into silence as we concentrated on working out the answers! I can tell you that the reason flower girls scatter flower petals up the aisle is so the smell wards off evil spirits and that the reason the bride always stands on the left of her groom is so that the groom has his right arm free to defend his bride.

Look at our spread!  © Jess Bruce 2015

Look at our spread! © Jess Bruce 2015

Of course there was lots (and lots) of delicious food. We had afternoon tea with lots of little sandwiches and my Mum’s legendary sausage rolls and cheese straws to start with followed by scones, clotted cream and jam.

We had these homemade chocolates and these almond truffle balls all of which were divine! We also made Oh She Glow’s chocolate macaroon tart (which personally I think is the most delicious thing in the world), along with little lemon tarts from The Intolerant Gourmet – the pastry for the tarts was the best gluten free dairy free pastry we’ve ever made, flakey and light. The centre piece was an orange and elderflower cake with vanilla butter cream from a book called Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache by Harry  Eastwood. This book is the cake bible in our family. It uses vegetables in place of fat in recipes and mostly brown rice flour so the bakes are naturally dairy and gluten free. Save for the scones and sandwiches, everything was Jess friendly i.e. gluten and dairy free. I had my own plate of gluten free sandwiches made with Newburn Bakehouse bread. We made this cashew cream for me to have in place of the clotted cream and my scones were made using sorghum flour adapting a Honeybuns recipe. All very delicious and I ate far too much!

© Jess Bruce 2015

© Jess Bruce 2015

No afternoon tea would be complete without cups of tea and luckily, even if I do say so myself, I have an amazing selection of teas – as the tea menu that Lou made shows! I personally had white tea with cherry and jasmine green tea. We used my dear Nan’s china tea service and embroided table cloths which made the occasion feel extra special.

Overall it was a wonderful afternoon with lots of laughter, friends, food and drink. I felt very loved. Thank you so much Mum and Lou for arranging such a lovely afternoon. It was perfect, exactly what I wanted. Thank you to Mr B’s Mum, Rose, for making the bunting and to all my friends who came.

The icing on the cake was that my ME/CFS behaved for me to be able to enjoy my party. And the cherry on top of the iced cake (sorry that’s the end of the cake analogy I promise) was that Chelsea won. My Dad and Mr B went to see Chelsea v Newcastle so they were out of the flat for the shower and thankfully Chelsea won two nil which was perfect.

11 Responses to “Bridal Shower Joy”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 15, 2015 at 11:31 am #

    What a beautiful bridal shower! My favorite part, besides the tea, desserts, and aesthetics, was the wedding tradition quiz. I was in awe about learning those two nuggets.

  2. Chloe January 15, 2015 at 11:44 am #

    So glad you had an amazing time! So great that you felt okay and managed to enjoy it too 🙂 xx

    • myjourneythrume January 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm #

      Thank you! I was very relieved, suffered a bit this week but it was worth it 🙂 xx

  3. Ema Jones January 15, 2015 at 11:45 am #

    Congratulations!

    • myjourneythrume January 15, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

      Thank you!

      • Ema Jones January 16, 2015 at 6:43 am #

        Enjoy the wedding sweetie 🙂

  4. Lindsay January 24, 2015 at 12:27 am #

    it sounds like a wonderful shower! congratulations! i’m still trying to figure out when to have mine. when is your wedding date?

    • myjourneythrume January 26, 2015 at 9:29 am #

      Thank you! Wedding isn’t until August 8th but we needed to have the shower whilst my sister was home. She lives in Philly and won’t be now until late July when it’ll be too close to the wedding for me to have the shower. Hoping to keep the last few weeks before the wedding as quiet as possible to keep ME/CFS happy! Hope your planning is going well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weddings & ME | my journey thru M.E. - January 20, 2015

    […] you enjoy wedding talk you might like to read about my bridal shower […]

  2. Hooray! It’s Today! | my journey thru M.E. - January 23, 2015

    […] dear friend gave me this card at my Bridal Shower and as I love the sentiment so much I thought I would share it with […]

Leave a Reply

