Dreams Can Come True

13 Jan
It may be a long road but dreams can come true.  © Jess Bruce 2015.

It may be a long road but dreams can come true. © Jess Bruce 2015.

Last post I talked about Promises For Myself, i.e. new years resolutions.

An extension of such promises are our dreams. We all have them. They are natural motivators and can be huge sources of inspiration.

I see new years resolutions as the stepping stones to our dreams. Dreams are the bigger picture and resolutions form part of the journey to reach that ultimate goal.

Some dreams are practical and tangible. Some may be short term and easier to fulfill whilst others more lofty, long term and/or complex.

Dreams can remain out of reach for years. Possibly forever. They can be just within our grasp, and then frustratingly slip away.

Almost all dreams take time and patience to achieve. That seems to be inherent to the very nature of what a dream is:

Dream: a cherished aspiration, ambition or ideal (as defined in the Oxford Dictionary).

No matter what your specific dream may be, it takes belief and courage to achieve your dreams. It takes perseverance and motivation which is why achieving a dream feels so so sweet and satisfying, when you do finally get there.

During the years when my ME/CFS was very acute and all life consuming, I had very little energy to dream. At times it felt futile to dream as anything other than resting and pacing seemed so impossible. The only dream I really paid attention to was the dream of recovering, of shaking off the shackles of ME/CFS and of regaining some semblance of normal life for myself. Over the course of 2014, thanks in large part to the Lightning Process, that dream came true. Other than in the very darkest moments of my illness, I somehow managed to cling onto the hope and belief that I would recover. That incessant belief helped me. The faith kept me going and helped my dream of recovery come true.

But, my illness changed me. I am not the same person now as I was back in 2010 when I first became very ill. And so my dreams have evolved. Thanks to ME/CFS my life is very different to what I imagined it would be. My dream of a successful career as a lawyer has fallen away due to circumstance. I mourned the loss of that dream for a long time. But I am now at peace with it. My dreams have changed, grown and developed over the years of being ill.

Now my main dream is to get married and have children. The marriage part of my dream will come true on 8th August this year. And God willing, children will follow. I have long dreamed of visiting Japan and Australia. We are looking at visiting one of these amazing countries for our honeymoon. So all being well, by the end of 2015, another dream will have come true.

I still dream of having a successful career. But it is in a very moderated away compared to my previous life in law.  Career is perhaps the wrong word. Vocation is perhaps better. Though that is perhaps too lofty. Role or purpose fits the bill I guess. Regardless of the terminology, at the moment the details of this dream are still hazy. I dream of being able to put my illness to good use. I’d like to use what I’ve been through and learnt on my journey through ME/CFS to help others. But exactly how this will be is still a work in progress. Although I am tons better, ME/CFS is still with me. And I am not yet well enough to embark on forging a new role for myself. So for the time being writing this blog is my way of  fulfilling my dream of helping others.

Dreams ultimately are uplifting and inspiring. If you are currently fighting ME/CFS or face other challenging circumstances, try not to lose sight of your dreams. Keep the faith. It’s what got me through.

What are your dreams? Have they changed over time? What dreams will come true for you this year?

4 Responses to “Dreams Can Come True”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 13, 2015 at 1:18 pm #

    There is no doubt that reading this and your story will keep hopes and dreams alive for ME/CFS sufferers! I think my dreams seem ever-changing. But they always seem to revolve around a desire for peace and contentment in all. Crazily, some of the best things I look back on or have, were never things I dreamed of.

    • myjourneythrume January 14, 2015 at 11:45 am #

      Awh thanks. I hope it helps others. I definitely think the best things in life can be the unexpected. I guess that’s what makes life exciting!

  2. Miss P January 13, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

    “So for the time being writing this blog is my way of fulfilling my dream of helping others.”

    Your positive, sincere and inspiring blog has helped to keep my spirits up during my own journey with ME.

    A very big THANK YOU! =)

    • myjourneythrume January 14, 2015 at 11:43 am #

      A very BIG thank you to you for such a lovely comment. Really made me smile 😊

Leave a Reply

