Promises For Myself

9 Jan
Meditative Peace. Photo credit Melodi2 via Morgue File

Meditative Peace. Photo credit Melodi2 via Morgue File

With the holidays over and the new year just begun, our minds seem to inherently turn to new beginnings. It’s that time when we hear all about resolutions and promises. Plans and good intentions. Be it to go to the gym or clean up your diet. Or declutter. Or to be calmer, happier, more grateful. To start that home yoga practice. To take the stairs instead of the elevator. To stop buying shoes / handbags / recipe books (ahem the latter applies to me) you don’t actually need. To look for a new job. The list of possible resolutions is endless and personal to each of us.

It’s the New Year. New Year, fresh start. Clean slate. Resolutions. New habits. Plans. Intentions. New goals. Promises.

I’m all for new years resolutions. I’m a great one at making them. Not so great at following through. Last year I promised myself I would play the piano every day. Sadly I think I can count on my fingers the number of times I actually played over the course of 2014.  In fact looking back at last year’s new years post, there are quite a few resolutions which I did not keep.

So this year I’m not going to make many loud and brash resolutions. Instead I’ve set myself just two small manageable ones.

1. To use the Lightning Process at least once every day. Even if a ME/CFS specific symptom doesn’t arise to warrant specific use of the Lightning Process, there is always a need for me to cultivate greater calmness, or to be more grounded in the moment or to be happier. So far so good on this. Since January 1st I have taken a few minutes out each day to go through the Lightning Process steps. I have used it to do more calmness, more energy, more love and happiness. At only a week into the new year, perhaps patting myself on the back for keeping my resolution is a bit premature, but I believe it is said that the first few days of forming a new habit are the hardest so I think well done me. Only another 356 days to go…

2. To cultivate a daily meditation practice. Yes regular readers this was on my list last year. And no I didn’t stick with it. Second time around…. Although I still need to take a daily rest most days and lay down listening to a Yoga Nidra for an hour or so, this isn’t meditation in the purest sense. So I want to try and develop a ritual of meditating each day.  I’ve got the Headspace App as my guide and encouragement. I’ve used Headspace, a free meditation app, ad hoc over the last year. But its real benefit I think comes from its regular practice program. So that’s my goal. I’m going to start small at 10 minutes each morning after my yoga practice and build up. Meditation is the best tool at calming your mind; at reducing stress and grounding you; all things that benefit a nervous system disorder such as ME/CFS and thus important for me to incorporate into my daily routine. I have to admit I haven’t been quite as successful at getting this resolution going but today is the day…. Although it’s only 10 minutes I seem very good at making excuses not to have time. If I’m going out then my morning routine often falls away and I may not practice yoga, which I see as the natural segue into meditation. But that’s me just being lame. Even if I don’t have time for yoga, on everything but the rarest of occasions I should still have ten minutes to whack on my headphones, tune into Headspace and meditate.

It’s all about having a routine and incorporating your resolutions into it. I work great with a routine. But tend to flake and fall apart at the slightest deviation. Not this year. 2015 is going to be the year of Jess being flexible with her days and incorporating what matters most, such as meditation and yoga, into my life no matter how disrupted my routine might appear to be. I could say, I think it’s due to the enforced routine of having to pace to survive ME/CFS over the last few years, that makes me less able to adapt to changes in my daily structure. I’m all or nothing. One thing slips. Everything goes. But I’ve never been good with change. Just ask my Mum about the week I started secondary school – I was sick every morning. Anyway, as I say I’m going to really focus on including meditation in my day regardless of what else I am doing. Flexible fluid Jess. I guess that in itself is a resolution, my third and final. A much less tangible resolution. I like things I can tick off. Done for the day. Achieved. Complete. So we’ll see how well I get on at being flexible and fluid….

So there you have it. My resolutions, I hate that word. Let’s thing of something kinder. Promises for myself. My promises for myself for 2015. Let’s see how I go.

Over to you. What promises for yourself have you made for 2015?

6 Responses to “Promises For Myself”

  1. tinakmeyer January 9, 2015 at 9:11 am #

    I giggled out loud as I read your piece. So similar to where I am at. Mine are similar to yours – regular meditation to shut out the noise of a chaotic life. Best wishes to both of us Jess 😉

    • myjourneythrume January 9, 2015 at 10:32 am #

      Your comment made me smile 😊 thank you reading. I definitely need all the help I can get with shutting out life’s noise. Good luck and best wishes 😊

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 11, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    I could use some along the lines of yours. Make time for quiet/prayer time for myself. I did good before the baby, but not so much now.

    • myjourneythrume January 12, 2015 at 10:43 am #

      I can imagine with a baby and 3 other growing girls quiet time is something you crave and in short supply! Hope you manage a few moments peace each day, however brief!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dreams Can Come True | my journey thru M.E. - January 13, 2015

    […] post I talked about Promises For Myself, i.e. new years […]

  2. Get Me Some Head Space | my journey thru M.E. - February 9, 2015

    […] the start of this year I made a promise to myself that I would meditate everyday. It was my new years resolution. A month in, I am proud to say that […]

Leave a Reply

