Happy New Year!

6 Jan
Wine against the sunset

Cheers! Photo © Jess B.

Happy 2015 Everyone! Already 6 days into this new year, I realize I am slightly late to the party but hey, I hope you’re having a happy new year all the same.

It’s hard to believe that the two week frenzy of the holidays has already been and gone. It seems to have passed in a whirlwind. Mr B and I took down our Christmas decorations yesterday and he is back at work. For me yesterday was the first day in nearly three weeks that I’ve had just at home by myself. It felt a bit subdued; a bit mellow. But it gave me the opportunity to get back to my routine, back to yoga and meditation, back to writing, rest and focusing on healing. It is what my body (and mind) needs.

Mr B and I saw in the New Year with our good friends, H&P,  who live in the same apartment complex as us. We ate a mountain of amazing sushi, played board games and drank wine. At 6 pm on New Years Eve I had been to bed for a rest. Having traveled back to London on the 30th and gone out and done a food shop early on the 31st I was pretty tired. I texted H to say I may not last until midnight and to not think me lame if I started snoozing on their sofa! However I did last until Midnight, thanks in large part to us all drinking a lot more vino than anyone intended. We were all slightly very merry by the time the London fireworks burst into life on the TV screen and we were toasting one another with champagne and (badly) singing Auld Lang Syne.  After me wandering around with H&P’s toddler’s stuffed Zebra on my head showing off my fine balance skills, Mr B and I headed home at 1.30 am. We were both very thankful that the walk stumble home was only a matter of a 100 meters or so.

Waking up on January 1st to a message from H reading ‘my head is v v sore’ I got to spend the first day of the new year with a lovely hangover. My first proper hangover in 4 + years. You see lovely readers, drinking too much on new years eve 2014 and the resulting hangover on January 1st 2015 is another milestone on my road to recovery from ME/CFS. It was the first time I have been drunk in a very long time.

Although in recent months I have been ‘out’ a couple of times – once for Mr B’s birthday and once at a family wedding – and not gone to bed until very late, on those occasions after a few drinks I switched to sparkling water so although I was pretty exhausted ME/CFS style the next day, I did not have a ‘normal’ hangover.

1st January 2015 was definitely a ‘normal’ hangover. And perhaps because I felt so bad hangover wise I didn’t really notice Me/CFS post exertion malaise. That came the next day when I was much more tired in that heavy, physical, crushing way that I associate all too well with ME/CFS. But as another positive sign of my ever improving health, the tiredness only lasted two days which is not bad going given how tired I was before I drank and stayed up so late on New Years Eve.

Mr B and I cancelled our planned lunch date to Sushi Samba on the 3rd so that I could have a quiet day at home resting. Neither of us could face more indulgent food and wine and I needed to just stop and take it easy. We spent the day watching 24 Live Another Day instead which was exactly what I needed (though my fragile nervous system could probably have survived without the stress and grusomeness of various moments of the show – what mother chops their daughter’s finger off?! A crazy terrorist that’s who…)

Alcohol intolerance is a common symptom of fatigue illnesses and my experience of ME/CFS is proof of that. For much of the time when my ME/CFS was out of control, just a mouthful or two of white wine diluted with soda water left me instantly feeling nauseous and with a thick aching head. I’d push the glass away. I avoided alcohol and drank very little for much of my illness. Not least because so often I had to take multiple doses of strong co-codomol painkillers in a day and I felt just so awful that adding another toxin into my body was the last thing I wanted.  Although not the harshest symptom I had to deal with, it was another restriction imposed by ME/CFS. So now it is just so nice to be able to be that bit freer and to be able to raise a glass or two (or six) if I want to. As I recover from ME/CFS I am getting back my freedom to choose what I want to do which is just the best feeling. Even if not all choices are wise…

I should add that in no way do I think drinking a lot of alcohol is a good thing and it is not something that I intend to repeat any time soon. Alcohol is hardly a healthy habit and definitely doesn’t ride well with healing and ME/CFS recovery. But as an occasional event, it was very nice to be able to do ‘normal’ and have a few (too many) drinks and have a hangover like a ‘normal’ person rather than have to avoid anything stronger than elderflower cordial for fear of triggering dizziness, crushing headaches, stomach cramps and much worse, by simply sniffing the drink.

But after all the indulgences of the holiday season, I am desperately in need of time to give my body and mind a break both in terms of busy-ness and activity levels as well as in terms of food and drink. So now I shall love you and leave you, I need to make a pot of green soup for my lunch and then it’s time for yoga 🙂

3 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Lindsay January 8, 2015 at 2:46 am #

    happy new year! sushi, board games and wine sounds like the perfect evening (minus the hangover)!

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 11, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

    Aaah. Sushi. None of that here. So it’s a real treat.

    • myjourneythrume January 12, 2015 at 10:43 am #

      I only started eating it in 2014, I can’t believe I thought I didn’t like it for so long!

Leave a Reply

