Happy Holidays!

23 Dec
Photo by Jess B. Our gorgeous big Christmas Tree last year.

Photo by Jess B. Our gorgeous big Christmas Tree last year.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Despite eating my weight in gluten free mince pies (Waitrose excellent, Tesco soggy bottomed, my Mum’s homemade the best) in recent days, I still can’t quite believe it is Christmas!  I love Christmas; I always have. As a child I got so excited about Santa’s visit that I didn’t sleep for weeks in the run up leaving my poor parents exhausted! Thankfully I grew out of that…eventually! Now Christmas is special because it is a time to spend with family, especially my sister, who lives in the US but always flies home for Christmas. And of course no celebration would be complete without eating lots (and lots) of delicious food!

This year Christmas marks another milestone in my recovery; another first for Jess doing wellness. This year Mr B and I decided that I was well enough to cope with travelling the breadth of the country in order for us to spend time with both of our families. On Sunday we left London and travelled to Shropshire to spend a few days with Mr B’s family and tomorrow, Christmas Eve, we leave here and will drive across the country to Lincolnshire to my family. Helpfully… our families live on opposite sides of the country.

Photo by Jess B. Christmas baubles.

Photo by Jess B. Christmas baubles.

This isn’t being done on a whim, lots of thought and planning has gone into this in order to minimise any impact on my health. I am so much better but ME/CFS still catches up with me if I don’t keep it in mind. After several years of enforced pacing, spontaneous activity is still hard for me to cope with. Curve balls still throw me and exacerbate symptoms. ME/CFS is an illness that responds well to paced and planned activity management. And even now I have to do this to some degree. So over the Christmas period I will do my best to keep to the routine that I know keeps me on an even keel, yoga, meditation rest breaks, bed by 10 pm, walks and of course my controlled diet. I am able to be much more flexible with my routine now but can only go so far, albeit a million miles further than I used to be able, before ME/CFS steps in. But hey, I’m just glad I’m well enough to be doing this at all. Though I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t also very grateful that Mr B bought a new car this year which is super comfy and even has seat warmers so I can recline with my headphones on and yoga nidra soothing my ears in a deliciously warm seat as he drives us across the country 🙂

Christmas characters. Photo by Jess B.

Christmas characters made by my Mum. Photo by Jess B.

In previous years I have just gone to Lincolnshire; and a couple of weeks before Christmas at that in order to give my ME/CFS addled body time to recover before the festivities began. So I’m over the moon that I’m well enough to tick off another first from my ‘recovery to do list’ and be with Mr B to share the Christmas period with both sides of our family.

My mini Christmas Tree! Photo By Jess B.

My mini Christmas Tree! Photo By Jess B.

This year my Christmas lunch will be more ‘normal’ too. Last year I was mid way through my elimination diet to correct my numerous food intolerances. With Turkey, egg, yeast, dairy, gluten, grape and more off the menu, my Christmas lunch was different. I had lentil loaf without all the usual festive accompaniments and a raw cinnamon ‘cheese’cake for pudding. Having successfully used the Lightning Process to reintroduce (more on that in a future post) egg, yeast, turkey and grape back into my diet, many traditional Christmas foods are now back on my plate! Roast Turkey with stuffing, bread sauce, croquet potatoes, Christmas pudding and mince pies are all mine to enjoy again! These are all of course still of the gluten free and dairy free variety but my Mum is wonder woman and has been busy making two versions of all the Christmas staples, gluten free dairy free for me and ‘normal’ for everyone else! Not sure this is helping my waist line but it is certainly making me very happy.

Christmas baubles bring back lovely memories. Photo by Jess B.

Christmas baubles bring back lovely memories. Photo by Jess B.

As we aren’t spending Christmas in our flat, Mr B (a.k.a Scrooge) refused to let me have a giant tree like we had last year. But I found a very cute mini real tree in Tescos which has satisfied my need for pine needles! I thought it was a bargain at £10, not sure Mr B was as impressed…  There was a bigger version for £20 but it was too heavy for my (still) weak arms to pick up. Mr B had a lucky escape! I’ve put up the rest of our decorations so our flat has still had a festive feel even with the growing pile of boxes ready for moving, all being well, early in the New Year.

So that’s how I’ll be spending Christmas. What about you?

Whatever your plans, I hope you have a wonderful, fun, family and food filled Christmas.

Happppppy Holidays Everyone!

11 Responses to “Happy Holidays!”

  1. BONNIE JOHNSON December 23, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    HAVE A GREAT CHRISTMAS, JESS! MY FAMILY IS COMING HERE FROM CALGARY & EDMONTON, ALTA ON BOXING DAY. I WON’T BE DOING MUCH–MY DAUGHTERS TAKE OVER THE KITCHEN! I WILL DEFINITELY BE ”PACING”! GOD BLESS YOU & YOURS. LOVE, BONNIE G.

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2014 at 9:07 am #

      Merry Christmas Bonnie! Hope you have a wonderful time with your family and glad to hear you wont be doing too much 😊 xx

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor December 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

    Love updates! Merry Christmas! We’re staying in!

  3. Grow. Cook. Eat. Share. December 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

    Merry Christmas Jess! Wishing you and yours a wonderful time of eating, relaxing, and celebrating together.

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you! And i hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas

  4. Trisha December 24, 2014 at 1:00 am #

    Happy Christmas to you and your family! I wish you an abundant supply of spoons. 🙂 We’re spending Christmas day with my husband’s family and going to see my parents on the 27th. I’m doing better but back to back dinners still aren’t a good idea for me. I need at least a day in between. Enjoy your travels and festivities!

    • myjourneythrume December 24, 2014 at 7:39 am #

      Happy Christmas Trisha! I hope you have a wonderful time with your husband and your family. I know exactly what you mean about needing a day’s rest inbeteeen the big meals.

  5. Miss P December 24, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    Happy Christmas
    x =) x

Leave a Reply

