Lets Hit the Fast Forward Button and…..Fly to Las Vegas Baby!!

14 Jan
Vegas Weeeee're Coming! Photo credit Vegas Means Business.

Vegas Weeeee’re Coming! Photo credit Vegas Means Business.

The Daily Prompt Post from WordPress pops up on my reader each day. I usually glance at it and give it a quick skim; not usually drawn to follow through and blog on its chosen topic.

However, the Daily Prompt on Saturday January 11th 2014, caught my eye more keenly than usual. The Prompt read:

If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?”

Having said that I am finding a new found happiness in being in the moment in my New Year resolutions post, looking forward to a future date may seem contradictory. Perhaps it is. And perhaps the fact I was drawn in by this Daily Prompt rather than any other, goes to show that my presence in the moment is still a work in progress.

Perhaps. But I prefer to say that although I have specific dates that I am looking forward to, I am still very happy and aware of the present moment; of me sat typing this post in front of my light box, with the cool winter air slipping in through the open window and the low winter sun shining, casting bright patches of light onto our apartment’s white walls. I don’t think it’s an oxymoron to both be happy in the moment and to be looking forward to a specific date.

And looking forward to a specific date is my interpretation of being able to ‘fast forward to a specific date in the future’. For me fast forwarding would always be to something I was looking forward to. Tho I guess for some you may want to fast forward to a date that you’re dreading just to get it over with. I remember saying more than once during University exams, ‘I just want it to done and over now’.

So, back to the Prompt itself: to what specific date in the future do I want to fast forward?

Well, my answer to this question is April 12th 2014.

Why?

Because on that day Mr B and I will board a flight at London Gatwick bound for Las Vegas Baby!! And our trip doesn’t stop there, oh no. Vegas is very much the starting point, and really only a resting point – warm weather, luxury hotel suite perfect for some post flight TLC. From there we are going on a little, a three week, road trip! We are going to Death Valley, Big Sur Pacific Coast (where some how Mr B has convinced me to stay in a, albeit lovely ocean view, yurt…), Yosemite Park and San Francisco. And then we will fly up to Seattle for a few days in the city and some time out in the Olympic Park on the North West Peninsula. I will turn 30 whilst we are in Seattle. I think Seattle will be the perfect place to celebrate such a milestone of a birthday!

And then Mr B and I will part ways as he will sadly have to fly home to return to work and I will fly to Philly to visit my sister for two weeks! To say I am excited about this trip would be a small, HUGE GIGANTIC understatement! To be honest I have to keep pinching myself to know it’s happening and that it isn’t a dream from which I’ll wake up and find myself back on the sofa huddled in pain with crippling fatigue. This trip is only possible because I’m doing so much better. This trip will see me in a very different state from that which I went to Philly in last March. Only now when I look back to that time, and many other very dark moments during the last 3 years, do I see clearly just how poorly I was when I was doing ME/CFS. I am grateful every minute of every single day that I am doing so much better now thanks to the Lightning Process. And our American road trip is mine and Mr B’s way of celebrating my progress and having a wonderful exciting holiday which personally I think we both deserve after all the pain, worry and heartache of the last three years.

So 12 April 2014 will be a very special day and to which I wish I could fast forward – though I am also very glad I’ve got the time between now and then to continue recovering and building strength and stamina. I need that.

We are not setting off on this trip lightly nor blindly. We are fully aware that, as I said in my last post, I am not totally better. My health is fragile and I have to keep nurturing myself and using the Lightning Process. Lots of thought and planning has gone into our holiday, with lots more to come I’m sure. We are not visiting as many places as we had originally thought about in order to slow down the pace of the holiday and travel. We have factored in rest days where I can recuperate if I need or bask in feeling good having a lazy old time if not. We are flying up to Seattle from San Francisco rather than driving up the coast as had been our original plan, again to avoid over exerting or exhausting me. We are staying in self catering cottages and apartments or at least hotels with in room refrigerators  at each place so that I can control my diet more easily.

The Lightning Process is my biggest friend and ally for this trip, as it is each and every day. I have already begun using the Process on my fears about the holiday triggering a relapse and the feeling of guilt that I shouldn’t be going away. Through using the Process I am creating a bank of happy positive memories of myself in America on our trip doing wellness, great energy, joy and happiness. I can do it and I will do it. That has always been my motto throughout my journey with ME/CFS and it is just the same now. In fact it is even easier now because now I have tools to really help me do it, namely the Lightning Process.

When I pondered the Daily Prompt question further I thought of some more answers; answers which are less specific in terms of a precise date and instead that are of a higher plane perhaps than the date I  go on holiday, albeit a dream, celebration of life holiday, but a holiday nonetheless.

What are these other dates / times in the future, to which I’d like  LOVE to fast forward?

Here you have them:

A time when a cure for ME/CFS and POTS has been found, and if that’s not possible, at least a time when ME/CFS and POTS received their fair share of resources for medical research; or at least to a time when ME/CFS is taken seriously by ALL of the medical establishment and ALL of the population at large; a time when comments such as ‘it’s all in your head’ or ‘oh that’s that yuppie flu thing’ were seen as blasphemous. I wish I could fast forward to a time when I and all of my fellow spoonie friends were cured and well again.

As that is all sadly out of my control and seemingly some distance off, I will focus purely on what is in my control – planning and preparing for 12th April 2014, a date to which I am so very much looking forward.

Now over to you: “If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?”

And if you have any suggestions and recommendations for places for me and Mr B to visit on our travels, please let me know 🙂

20 Responses to “Lets Hit the Fast Forward Button and…..Fly to Las Vegas Baby!!”

  1. Jumping_Jenny_444 January 14, 2014 at 11:13 am #

    That’s very exciting that you’ll be going on a big trip to Las Vegas in April! 🙂 If I could go forward in time, I’d want to go into the Spring time of this year so then I can skip the rest of the winter. 😉

    • myjourneythrume January 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

      Yes I’d quite like to skip the rest of winter too. I love the crisp fresh air and low sunshine of winter but it’s just so darn cold!!

  2. currankentucky January 14, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

    What a fab holiday!! As for my fast forwarding… work, work work… I plan to return to work on a part time basis within the next two years. That is my fast forward!! LOL

    • myjourneythrume January 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

      Work is the next thing on my to tackle list after the holiday. I’m still figuring out what I’m going to do and how I’m going to do it. All I know for sure is I can’t go back to being a City corporate lawyer, the hours and pressure and stress isn’t good for anyone never mind some one like me! I think part time within 2 years is a very sensible plan. Will you go back to the same job as before?

      • currankentucky January 14, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

        I’m the exact same. I won’t be returning to my old job either, far too much pressure and stress. Honestly, I have no clue as to what I would aim to do. Sometimes I wonder if perhaps an admin job, on a part time basis would be best. That way I know I wont have the same pressures etc and I’d like to think doing something such as this on a part time basis would then point me in my next direction… It will be a case of trial and error I think! But will also be exciting when the time comes!!!

      • myjourneythrume January 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

        I’ve had the same thoughts about a part time admin job and I have a friend who has ME who used to be a teacher who now has an admin job at a uni which she copes with well most of the time. I keep thinking about retraining in some kind of therapy but not sure I want to go back to ‘school’. It’s not the time just yet and I’m a firm believer in something will happen and it will all resolve when the time is right…otherwise known as blissful ignorance I think!!

  3. triciaruth January 14, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    Sounds gorgeous!
    I did a road trip from Seattle to Vancouver, down the coast in Washington state, all the way down to Dan Siego via Vegas. I went with a friend (who I’m not friends with any more) and we did far too much in too short a time and therefore were in each place for far too short a time; getting only a brief glimpse of each place. I would love to go back and do it again for longer, and with a different person (obviously!), as I was also at the lowest point of my hypothyroidism and don’t know how I didn’t kill someone driving whilst in that altered mental state/reduced cognitive functioning!
    In order to truly live fully in the moment I believe that you need to be aware of your future desires otherwise you could be just aimlessly spuddling getting nowhere or dashing off in the wrong direction. The actions you take in the moment need to be guided by your hopes for the future.
    If you don’t mind I think I’m going to pinch this theme for my next blog (linking this post of course).

    • myjourneythrume January 14, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

      Pinch and link away!

      I love your phrase ‘aimlessly spuddling getting nowhere or dashing off in the wrong direction’ you’ve got it in one there! That totally sums up how I’m feeling.

      Our original plan was to do San Diego up to Seattle and drive all the way but decided it would be too rushed and potentially too much for me. I hope one day you get to back and revisit everything you feel you missed out on.

    • currankentucky January 14, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

      Its nice to hear of your friend who has successfully returned to working. I was the same for a while, thinking about retraining etc but right now that’s not an option and when the time comes I’d rather earn money again as opposed to going back to school. But, like you said something will happen, I do believe that, Its like first leaving Uni and all the what ifs.. we made it where we were because opportunities presented themselves. The same will happen again!!

      • myjourneythrume January 31, 2014 at 9:48 am #

        The same will happen again! Life has a way of magically presenting opportunities when the time is right, until they appear I’m going to resist the urge to stress and remind myself that it is not time yet. If that makes any sense!

      • currankentucky January 31, 2014 at 1:58 pm #

        Totally get you! Lots of sense!

  4. averyfranksenior January 14, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

    What a cool trip! And a very cool title!

  5. Lindsay January 15, 2014 at 3:00 am #

    That sounds like a great trip! I’m thinking of taking the boyfriend to Seattle this spring as well for his birthday!

    • myjourneythrume January 31, 2014 at 9:47 am #

      Oooh that sounds great! If you go before I do let me know anything you find worth visiting!

  6. hayley-eszti January 15, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    Wow Jess, exciting times ahead! Your trip sounds like it will be amazing, so much to do and seeing your sister I’m sure will be the icing on the cake. I am so glad you are at a point now where you can plan a trip like this in advance, and that you are doing so well with your health. I hope it continues throughout 2014, I’m sure it will. If I could fast forward to any date, it would be to when I will see my boyfriend again as we are currently in different countries for who knows how long. All the best for the new year! xxx

    • myjourneythrume January 23, 2014 at 10:11 am #

      Hey Hayley, oh I really feel for you being apart from your boyfriend, I know all too well how hard that is. I hope you get to see him really soon.

      2014 is looking like a great year for me and I really hope it is the same for you xxxx

  7. BONNIE JOHNSON January 26, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

    I’M JUST LOOKING FORWARD TO SPRING & HOPING I’LL BE ABLE TO DO MORE IN MY GARDENS THAN I COULD LAST YEAR! IT’S A CHALLENGE WHEN U CAN’T SQUAT OR BEND OVER FOR LONG PLUS I’M HOPING FO SOME LONGER LASTING ENERGY! HAVE FUN! MY HUSBAND’S FAVE PLACE; MINE IS THE ROCKY MTNS!

    • myjourneythrume January 31, 2014 at 9:43 am #

      Oooh Spring and warmth enough to be outside in the garden, I can’t wait for that either.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Journey Thru M.E. Part 4: Living Recovery in 2014 | my journey thru M.E. - December 8, 2014

    […] B and I went to the US for a three week road trip from Las Vegas to Seattle. Mr B high -fived me on the first night as we basked in our amazing Vegas […]

Leave a Reply

