Monday Madness

7 Jan

Have you ever had one of those days where time just seems to disappear on you? A day where you don’t seem to get anything done despite having good intentions and lots to do?

Have you ever had one of those days Β where you’ve felt like you should just go back to bed because every thing that could go wrong does go wrong?

Perhaps not my most positive start to a post, but this was the kind of day I had yesterday.

I was up early to drop my sister at the station for her flight back to the polar vortex that is North America at the moment. The fact I am well enough now to drive and to drop her at the station is still monumental for me. That was the good part of the day. I intended to come back from the station and to sit and blog in front of my light box. I intended to write a post reviewing how I had coped with Christmas using the Lightning Process. With my sister leaving and the holidays being officially over, it seemed like an appropriate time to do so.

And yet somehow in the 14 hours that I was awake yesterday I didn’t manage to sit down at the computer and blog. Instead I faffed and didn’t really achieve anything.

Though in my defence I wasn’t solely to blame. I had to deal with Mr crazy Tesco food delivery man who, rather than just delivering my shopping and leaving, ranted for a long time about the prime minister being more tanned than himself (the delivery guy was Caribbean…), how our apartment complex was like a prison (hmm, how many prisons do you know with ensuite bathrooms, private gym, pool, jacuzzi tub, gorgeous communal gardens…), how Council Tax rates are ridiculously high and why there are so many ‘benefit scroungers’ (his words not mine) in East London. I’m not sure what I did to deserve this special treatment. He did tell me I had a gorgeous smile πŸ™‚ so perhaps it wasn’t too bad.

So after a good 20 minutes (which felt like hours) of standing in my doorway fake smiling and feigning interest, gradually closing our door further and further and generally wondering how the hell I could extricate myself, crazy delivery man left and I returned to the food shop which was strewn all over the kitchen floor.

file3271234889344Then things got worse. There was another knock on our front door – oh god has the Tesco man come back?! I tentatively looked through the eye hole and happy to see someone entirely new, opened the door. It was one of our neighbours warning me that he had just caught a cat doing its business on our door mat. On looking down I saw the evidence. Gross. Disgusting. Yuck (mega yuck as this was clearly the work of a poorly cat…). Β This is not the first time this has happened. We are on our third door mat it has happened so many times. So instead of spending a nice relaxing afternoon starting one of my projects or doing some yoga I instead got to deal with removing said door mat, cleaning our doorway, lodging a complaint with the Estate office, googling cat deterrent methods (apparently pepper spray and clove oil are good) and generally being angry and annoyed that cats are allowed to wander the apartment blocks’ communal corridors unaccompanied… (don’t get me wrong I love cats, I just don’t love owners who let their cats do their business on my door mat!)

file6281256588692By this point in the day I was pretty ready to throw in the towel, call it quits and just go back to bed until a new day dawned.

I probably should have done. Instead I decided to ignore the food shopping that was still over the kitchen floor, do a yoga nidra relaxation (my most sensible decision of the day) and then pop out to the post office. Despite there being no showers forecast until night fall, yes you guessed it I got rained on whilst out on my walk. And with the wind being stupidly strong and gusty an umberrella would have been useless even if I hadn’t left it at home. To be fair, the rain could have been the universe’s way of telling me I should have taken a shower. Somehow it was 4pm and I was still in my yoga pants that I had hastily pulled on to take my sister to the station hours earlier. And I hadn’t done any yoga. So far so good with those new year resolutions….(and before you ask no I didn’t play the piano yesterday either). Humph.

At 5.30pm I decided it was about time I tidied the kitchen and put all the food shopping away (having tripped over a bag of vegetables on the way to the kettle I had no choice) and just after 6pm I finally made it into the shower. One highly unproductive day all round. I guess there is a silver lining to the not showering (other than saving water) as it shows how much more chilled out I am now thanks to the Lightning Process. Before, the perfectionist Jess would have done so much stress about having a shower there would have been a greater chance of me winning the lottery than of me going all day without showering. So yay, there is a plus side to all the mayhem. Other moments of clarity from amidst the madness would be acknowledging that I now have the energy to shower and wash my hair whenever I want, that I can unpack the food shopping without needing a sit down after each item and that I have the energy to clean up after cats (after the first ‘cat-gate’ incident my sister cleaned it all up for me saying that I couldn’t cos my dizziness was so bad then that I’d have face-planted into the mess by bending down, which would of course have been disgusting beyond words…). All positive signs of progress; just not ones I necessarily had focused on or expected to see yesterday!

file5201251409380Mr B plays footie on a Monday evening so after showering and having some dinner I decided I would make the most of my free evening and finally sit down and write my blog post. Oh but the internet gods had a different idea. Oh yes. Our broadband connection kept dropping. The little graph icon showing connectivity in the bottom right hand of the screen was showing me we had full connectivity and yet each time I tried to open a web page all I was greeted with was error and no data received messages. Great. Computer thrown out of window along with router and so I sat down surrounded by my new Raw and Vegan recipe books for company and had a calm peaceful end to a very unkind day.

When Mr B came home at gone 9pm he was greeted by a barrage of ranting and said I seemed to be in a funny mood, hmm I wonder why.

Well to end on a brighter note, yesterday is done and dusted and never to be repeated I hope and today can only be better – can’t it? Please tell me it can only get better! I have already done some yoga! I have been up for just over two and a half hours, I’ve yoga’d, had breakfast, unloaded the dishwasher, showered (!) and written this post. Next on the list: coffee (well green tea for me) with my dear friend H and her gorgeous baby girl I. What a difference a day makes πŸ™‚

I will be back with the post I intended to write yesterday about my Christmas with the Lightning Process later in the week provided no more cat poop, internet demons or crazy delivery men get in my way! And I promise this will be the only post I ever write about cats and their poop.

All photographs (proving I do like cats and that cats are in fact cute) in this post courtesy of Morgue File User Alvimann.

3 Responses to “Monday Madness”

  1. Megan S January 8, 2014 at 3:38 am #

    I can definitely relate to days like that. I also have the opposite kind of days where there’s things I want to get done but I lay down for a rest and suddenly the whole day is gone. πŸ™‚

  2. BONNIE JOHNSON January 9, 2014 at 7:30 am #

    WELL, PRAISE THE LORD U R FEELING SO MUCH BETTER U GET FRUSTRATED AT ALL THE THINGS U PLANNED TO DO NOT GETTING DONE, RATHER THAN KNOWING U WOULD BE SPENDING YOUR DAY PRETTY MUCH IN BED AS USUAL!!

  3. Michelle January 9, 2014 at 10:00 am #

    I thought these were your cats as I was reading this post. I thought that’s what explained the groceries on the floor…? Anyway, I’m sorry your day was out of sorts. But, I’m glad you found some silver linings and that it didn’t stick with you.

Leave a Reply

