Happy to be in the moment in 2014!

3 Jan
Happy New Year. By Morgue File User Efi.

Happy New Year. By Morgue File User Efi.

Happy New Year Everyone!

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that 2014 has begun brightly for you all.

For the first time in a long time, possibly ever, I am not suffering overwhelming post Christmas blues. Usually early January would see me pretty down at the realization that all the Christmas fun was over and that bleak winter stretched endlessly in front of me. Or, as in latter years, I would be filled with sheer relief that the festive season was over and that I could hibernate back into my paced routine and allow my poorly ME/CFS addled body to recover. Christmas seems exceptionally hard for those chronically ill spoonies amongst us.

At the start of this New Year I am in fact filled real hope, joy and optimism πŸ™‚ Yayyyyy! I am so Β looking forward to 2014 and where it will take me. Β I have positivity pouring out of my pores!! That is not to say that I got away scot free from the holiday season. No, I am licking some ME/CFS post Christmas wounds (more on that next post). But I am soooooo much better than I was at this time last year. I feel content and happy in the moment. I am glad to be here today. I feel grounded. I loved every moment of Christmas and the holiday season and of course I’m sad it’s over but I am excited about what is to come for me this January. This is a big change for me. I’ve always been a ‘grass is greener’ kinda gal, always looking to the next stage, the next big (or small) thing. I still have that element to my personality to some extent and I am looking forward to fast approaching future events (stay tuned for more on those) but I feel a sense of peace, of contentment, of satisfaction with where I am today.

This time last year I was in a pretty bad way. Autumn 2012 was particularly unkind to me and my ME/CFS body. And by January 2013 I was very much in a heap needing much TLC.

January 2014 could not be more different! Thanks to the Lightning Process I have the belief and conviction that I can and will move further and further beyond ME/CFS. I have the tools that I need in order to achieve this I just need to keep working on it, focusing on me and my recovery.

So in a nutshell that is my New Year’s resolution for 2014 – to focus and concentrate on my wellness and recovery. I read on the Lightning Process Facebook page recently ‘take what benefits you from 2013 into 2014 but leave behind anything that drags you down and takes you away from a life you love’. I’m paraphrasing, the actual quote was much prettier and pithy but I’m sure you get the point. I thought it was pretty neat and a good philosophy to live by.

As that is all pretty broad and lofty, I’ve broken down my resolution into individual projects. This is still very much a work in progress, with the parts shifting as often as the wind changes direction, always subject to the whim of the moment and my, still to be fully tamed, flighty mind.

  • Yoga – maintain and expand my yoga practice, including starting to go to one or two yoga classes per week. I’m going to start with gentle restorative yoga classes to begin with and see how my body copes with the travel and the hour + pratice time. But I’m excited about expanding my practice in this way.
  • Meditation – practice at least once a day, if not more, and attend at least one meditation class a week. And really concentrate on taming my monkey mind, each time I see my thoughts take over, bring it back to my breath.
  • Creativity – photography – I want to develop my photography skills. I plan to learn through some online tutorials such as those on Morgue File and also by getting out and about and playing with my (shiny new) camera. I’m thinking of starting a second blog, a sort of ‘my life thru a lens’ photo essay. Snapshots of my life through stills and captions.
  • Creativity – blogging – I love writing this blog, connecting with all of you through reading your comments on here and by reading your blogs. I want to keep building this blog’s presence by sharing my experiences of the Lightning Process and my journey thru and beyond ME/CFS.
  • Creativity – writing – I plan to begin thinking about how to turn my story into a novel….this is a biggy! And the initial step is to read up on how to be a creative writer.
  • Music – play the piano! One piece a day. I love playing when I actually get round to it, I have an electric piano (getting a proper piano, even an upright, into our flat through the ridiculously tight turns in our hallway would be more than a little reminiscent of the Friends’ episode with Ross, Rachel, the stairwell and the sofa) and I vow to use it more this year. One piece of music a day. Start small and build up. Check in with me people on this one in particular please πŸ™‚
  • Food – no list of my New Year resolutions and projects would be complete without mentioning food. Now I have more energy and am cooking more I want to start posting regular recipes (with good photographs in due course!) on here and potentially on a new food blog. I’m also going to try a completely vegan diet (Mr B is freaking out ‘what no meat?! How will you survive?! Suffice to say he will not be joining me on this little venture) for a little while and see if that has a beneficial impact on my energy levels – more on that soon!

I think that’s probably everything floating around in my brain right now. It’s certainly enough to be going on with! So many of my projects I’ve just realized are focused on being in the moment, yoga, meditation say no more, and photography, to take a good picture you need to be fully focused on your object in that very moment. Ditto music and writing.

So I guess we could say in a nutshell my New Year’s resolution is to live mindfully and in the moment.

Time for me to stop writing about my plans and start putting them into action. As my piano is right next to our desk, my first step after this post will be play a piece on the piano – I’ve got no excuse now I’ve made myself accountable to all of you!

What are your aims, hopes, dreams, plans, resolutions for 2014?

Sending lots of love and gentle hugs out to you all, especially fellow ME/CFS fighters who may be suffering post Christmas activity malaise. Rest well and I hope your energy picks up really soon.

17 Responses to “Happy to be in the moment in 2014!”

  1. currankentucky January 3, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    What a brilliant post. Your positivity oozes from the page!!!! I love your resolutions and wish you every success with them all. As for your comment on being grounded, it was only the other day I tried explaining this sensation to my husband. During 2013 I have become more and more grounded and I blame meditation and mindfulness for this. Its as if my belly button has a cord extending down to the earth and as if my gut is literally rooted there. I know it sounds freakish but I think you will get it!!! Positivity rocks!! xx

    • myjourneythrume January 3, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

      I totally get it!!! I know exactly what you mean and I’m pleased to hear I’m not the only one growing a cord to the earth from my abdomen!!! I too blame/thank meditation for this, it rocks! xx

  2. Jenny Barber January 3, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    This is such a great and positive post, it made me happy just reading it! Good luck with all your resolutions I have full faith in you and look forward to reading how it goes! I have some similar resolution, here’s to 2014, a happier, healthier year!

  3. thehomeschoolingdoctor January 3, 2014 at 1:11 pm #

    My New Year resolution is simple: to get out of the snowy tundra of South Dakota as often as I can this winter. Ha! Ha! Good luck with your resolutions! I consider myself a vegan who eats meat and shuns grains. Isn’t that funny? (The truth behind it lies in the fact that I don’t do well with dairy or eggs–and so I can adapt lots of vegan recipes if they don’t include anything like soy or wheat!) Play, play, play away on the keys!

    • myjourneythrume January 3, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

      Somehow I managed to forget between writing the post and standing up that piano playing was next for me..oops. I’ve been the same saying I’m a vegan who eats some meat and shuns grains, I’ve been baking without eggs and dairy for the last six months, it’s ace and I feel so much better for it. I might transition to full vegan via fish eating vegan and see how it goes. I don’t care about the label as long as what I put in my mouth makes me feel good! Happy New Year and send some of that snow my way please, it’s just rain rain rain here.

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor January 3, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

        How about I send you some sun? πŸ™‚

        Like you, I don’t care about the label as long as it keeps my body feeling the best it can!!!

      • myjourneythrume January 3, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

        Yep sun sounds good to me!

  4. nicolanoo January 3, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Good luck with all your resolutions! Happy New Year!

    • myjourneythrume January 3, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

      Thank you Nicola and a very happy new year to you too πŸ™‚

  5. sian wootton January 3, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

    Great post Jess,
    I’m leaving a lot behind in 2013. Whittled down my facebook friends. Surrounding myself with people that support me and continue to see that I may be ill but I am still me.
    Going to find something in everyday that makes me smile and laugh a lot. Be writing a post on it soon.
    Sian xx

    • myjourneythrume January 7, 2014 at 10:14 am #

      Thank you Sian. Facebook is a great place to start, I should do the same. I think seeing that you’re still you even tho you’re ill is really important and something it took me a long time to accept. Look forward to reading your post. Hope you’re having a ‘good’ day today. Jess xx

  6. Megan S January 3, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

    Glad to see you so positive and looking forward to following your journey in 2014. πŸ™‚

    • myjourneythrume January 7, 2014 at 10:14 am #

      Thank you Megan πŸ™‚ I look forward to following your journey too.

  7. Michelle January 9, 2014 at 9:47 am #

    A lot of great aspirations! Can’t wait to see how they go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Madness | my journey thru M.E. - January 7, 2014

    […] door mat it has happened so many times. So instead of spending a nice relaxing afternoon starting one of my projects or doing some yoga I instead got to deal with removing said door mat, cleaning our doorway, lodging […]

  2. Lets Hit the Fast Forward Button and…..Fly to Las Vegas Baby!! | my journey thru M.E. - January 14, 2014

    […] said that I am finding a new found happiness in being in the moment in my New Year resolutions post, looking forward to a future date may seem contradictory. Perhaps it is. And perhaps the fact […]

Leave a Reply

