It’s Starting To Feel A Lot Like Christmas!

22 Dec
Photo by Jess B. Our Christmas Tree

Photo by Jess B. Our Christmas Tree

Merry Christmas Everyone!

I hope you are all in the swing of the festive spirit and enjoying this special time of year. I most definitely am. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christmas!

For the first time Mr B and I are hosting Christmas in our flat. My sister is home from the US and has been with us for a few days already and today my parents arrive, well hopefully they arrive. As I type, if all had gone according to plan, they would have been steaming down the A1 motorway right about now en route to us. However, nothing ever goes completely smoothly, and this morning whilst my Dad was showering and my Mum stood innocently wiping the kitchen surfaces down, water started dripping through the kitchen ceiling. Not ideal.

Photo by Jess B. Christmas baubles.

Photo by Jess B. Christmas baubles.

But hey, what’s Christmas without a little plumbing drama?! And nothing is going to dampen my festive spirit, given I have more energy this year than for a very long time.

We will celebrate with Mr B’s family when they visit us next Sunday – you can never have too many Christmases!

Photo by Jess B. Our tree.

Photo by Jess B. Our tree.

Mr B and I live in a loft style apartment and so are blessed with double height (14 foot) ceilings and so we have space for a huge Christmas tree. I wanted a 12 foot tree. Mr B wanted a tiny fiber optic one. We compromised on a 7 foot (real) nordic fir which even if I do say so myself, looks magnificent dressed in some of my Mum’s ornaments from my childhood as well as new ones that Mr B and I have purchased over the last few months. The presents are piling up around the tree, the carols and Christmas songs playing, mince pies, christmas pud and copious amounts of cakes under way. Fairy lights are twinkling all over our flat, tinsel sparkles, now we just need a sprinkling of snow (unlikely) and Santa to arrive!

Me decorating the tree! Photo by Jess B.

Me decorating the tree! Photo by Jess B.

I actually decorated the tree this year – the first time in 3 years that decorating the tree has involved more than me just putting up two decorations and then collapsing back onto the sofa. I can not tell you how wonderful it felt to be stood a top the steps popping baubles onto the uppermost branches of our tree.

I’m still trying to take it easy. As my Lightning Process practitioner reminded me in my session with her last week, my priority still must be my recovery. Christmas or no Christmas, all I want is to be well and so I am using the Lightning Process to keep me calm and to keep the overwhelm of the festive season in check.

As we’re in full on Christmas cooking kitchen mode, it’s time for me to get to making (yes actually making not sitting watching ‘supervising’ making which has been my role over the last few years when I was doing ME/CFS) my gluten, dairy, yeast, grape, egg, coconut, turkey free Christmas foods! Whilst I do that, here are some pics of Christmas chez nous – enjoy πŸ™‚

Christmas bell ornaments from my Mum's childhood. Photo by Jess B.

Christmas bell ornaments from my Mum’s childhood. Photo by Jess B.

Christmas baubles bring back lovely memories. Photo by Jess B.

Christmas baubles bring back lovely memories. Photo by Jess B.

Presents!!!! Photo by Jess B.

Presents!!!! Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

Sitting santa and Mr Snowman, knitted by my Mum. Photo by Jess B.

Sitting Santa and Mr Snowman, knitted by my Mum. So cute! Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

And our Christmas Penguin! Photo by Jess B.

And our Christmas Penguin, a gift a few years ago from my sister! Photo by Jess B.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and happy, healthy and wonderful New Year.

Jess xxxx

23 Responses to “It’s Starting To Feel A Lot Like Christmas!”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor December 22, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    It’s all so beautiful–and you’re in on it! What’s for dinner? We’re kind of working within the same constraints! You say baubles and we say balls (or ornaments).

    • myjourneythrume December 22, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      Chicken mushroom pie with mashed potato topping is my special dinner with cranberry sauce, smashed swede (rutabaga?) and carrot, Brussels sprouts, sausages wrapped in bacon, braised red cabbage and a quinoa date stuffing still to be invented – my job for tomorrow! The rest of my clan are having roast turkey with all the usual accompaniments. My pud is a cashew cream cinnamon ‘cheesecake’ whilst the others have traditional Christmas pud. I’ve even made myself some dark chocolate mints for after dinner. No wonder I’m doing tired, I’ve been doing a lot of cooking! We have lots of balls on our tree!

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor December 23, 2013 at 1:14 am #

        That sounds awesome! I think we will do prime rib this year. It is not typical for us but sounds so good to me. I made some cashew cream for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! I froze half so now I have some to pull out for Christmas! I hope you have a great dinner! By the way, your loft looks lovely! And don’t forget, even “normal” people have to rest! LOL!

      • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:32 am #

        I’m thinking we’ll do a prime rib roast at the weekend for Christmas with Mr B’s family.

        That’s a very sound and appropriate reminder, thank you. Keep telling me that! I’m still learning what ‘normal’ tiredness is and keeping my apparently inherent tendency to overdo it in check. So keep reminding me that ‘normal’ people need rest too!

  2. currankentucky December 22, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    What beautiful pictures, I love your tree!!! Wishing you, Mr B and all your family a wonderful Christmas. xx

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:20 am #

      Thank you Marie. I hope you and your hubby have a wonderful Christmas too. xx

  3. Jumping_Jenny_444 December 22, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    You have such a beautiful Christmas tree! πŸ™‚ Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas as well, and that the Lightning process continues to go well for you. I’ve never heard of that before–it sounds interesting though. πŸ™‚ Has it helped out with your CFS/ME?

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:22 am #

      Thank you Jenny. Merry Christmas to you and your family. The Lightning Process has helped me move forwards from doing ME/CFS in so many ways. It has enabled me to control my symptoms to a much greater extent than before. I’m doing so much better and it’s all thanks to LP. I’ll be posting lots more about it after the holidays.

      • Jumping_Jenny_444 December 23, 2013 at 11:08 am #

        Looking forward to reading about it! πŸ™‚

      • myjourneythrume January 3, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

        Thanks Jenny!

  4. Just Another F-Bomb December 22, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Beautiful tree, I miss having a live tree and that pine smell……Hoping you have a fabulous holiday with your family. Sounds as if you’ve got a good handle on your ME/CFS! πŸ™‚

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:22 am #

      I have many pine scented candles to enhance the Christmas smell! Thank you for the good wishes. I send the same back to you, Merry Christmas!

      • BONNIE JOHNSON December 23, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

        MAKE SURE THOSE PINE SCENTED CANDLES R NATURAL & OF GOOD QUALITY. SOME OF THOSE SCENTED PRODUCTS CAN BE VERY BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH! SOMEDAY U’LL HAVE A DIFFUSER & THE REAL THING=PURE PINE ESSENTIAL OILS! THEY ALSO PURIFY THE AIR–SO MANY WONDERFUL SCENTS TO CHOOSE FROM. EVEN ONE ESP FOR XMAS! SMILE.

  5. Kate December 22, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Merry Christmas Jess πŸ™‚

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Thank you and a very Merry Christmas to you too πŸ™‚

  6. Megan S December 22, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    This all looks so beautiful. Merry Christmas, I hope you have a wonderful holidays!

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Thank you and the same good wishes right back to you – Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  7. BONNIE JOHNSON December 23, 2013 at 6:53 am #

    MERRY CHRISTMAS JESS; I CAN ONLY IMAGINE HOW EXCITED YOU FEEL & HOW AWESOME IT IS FOR U TO BE ABLE TO DO SO MUCH THIS YEAR–A REAL TREAT! DO PACE YOUESELF, MY DEAR. LOVE, BJ.

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      That is very sound advice Brenda, and advice I need to keep hearing. I’m trying hard to keep my inner manic busyness in check! but it’s hard! Merry Christmas,hope you have wonderful holidays this year. Jx

      • BONNIE JOHNSON December 23, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

        WHEN YOU FINALLY HAVE SOME ENERGY, IT’S SO VERY HARD TO DO. ”JUST ONE MORE THING…” HUGS.

  8. Trisha December 23, 2013 at 7:20 am #

    Everything is beautiful! Merry Christmas!

    • myjourneythrume December 23, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      Thank you! And Merry Christmas to you too πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas in Review | my journey thru M.E. - January 10, 2014

    […] shopping for thousands (in Mr B’s eyes at least) of Christmas ornaments and decorations! I decorated our tree for the first time in over 3 years. I was able to fully participate in the Christmas cooking both in […]

Leave a Reply

