Happy Positive Thoughts

1 Sep
Be Happy. Photo by Jess B

Be Happy. Photo by Jess B

I always try to look ‘on the briiiight side of life’! I try to be positive and happy despite the junk that ME/CFS throws at me. It is especially important for me to try and stay smiley when my symptoms are flaring. This week I’ve had way more pain than my usual. So instead of letting it get me down I thought I’d get some reinforcements and bring out the big guns by inscribing my happy positive thoughts on my blog because then they’re permanent, they’re in writing for the world to see and so have to stay true (please don’t question the loose logic)!

So here are some of the things making my happy / thankful / positive this week:

Snack of Dreams. Photo by Jess B.

Snack of Dreams. Photo by Jess B.

  • This amazing snack that I just made myself: buckwheat rice cracker topped with sliced banana and dark chocolate dreams peanut butter. The PB chocolate spread has dreams in it its title and boy is it true. This stuff is amazing. I was ready to go into mourning when I realized that Justin’s chocolate spread contained almonds and so I can no longer eat it, but luckily this jar came to my rescue. So what if it cost me half a month’s mortgage money to buy it, every drop of chocolately dreamy heaven is worth it (and yes I did lick the knife and nearly grate my tongue in the process).
  • The many meditation apps I have discovered this week available on iPhone and iPad and most were free. Many moments of calm without breaking the bank. Score!
  • The way yoga makes me feel. Yes yes I know I’ve harped on about how wonderful yoga makes me feel before but this morning I was reminded again. I was in a lot of pain this morning, my neck and upper body pain had really spiked. Half of me couldn’t be bothered to do my yoga practice but I made myself and it felt so good to gently stretch my body out. It loosened me up, eased the pain a bit and cleared my head.
  • Fennel seed tea, I’m drinking buckets of this and it is really soothing when I get food baby bloated.
  • That it’s sunny and bright outside which makes going for my paced walks on the streets of London so much more enjoyable.
  • Autumn is just around the corner. I’m really looking forward to ‘Fall’ this year. Not particularly sure why!
  • I’m loving being back with Mr B in our flat together. Each evening when we sit across from each other and eat dinner, it’s just so nice. It’s nice to be able to be together and for it to be normal!
  • I’m enjoying exploring new recipes and foods with my new diet. Who knew avocados could be turned into the creamiest chocolate mousse or that ground cashews make a great ‘cheesy’ pasta Carbonara sauce? Not me until recently that’s for sure!
  • My sister sent me a surprise Amazon parcel of DVDs – Friday Night Lites and The Blindside. It was such a good surprise, I stood grinning in my kitchen after I’d opened the parcel and seen what was inside.
  • I’m really looking forward to having a few friends visit in the next couple of weeks. Next weekend my two oldest friends are visiting, we’ve known each other since school but now live at opposite ends of the country so our meet ups are extra special as they don’t happen that frequently. And the weekend after a close friend from my law school days is coming over. We bonded over the pain of studying law, Sex and the City and white wine; years on she has stuck by me.
  • I’m so thankful for such supportive family and friends. I’d be lost without them.

They’re my happy thoughts, what are yours?

13 Responses to “Happy Positive Thoughts”

  1. currankentucky September 1, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Love it, love it, love it!!!!

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor September 1, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Fennel seed tea. Pearl tucked away in my brain! Good to read your post!

    • myjourneythrume September 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      I love the tea! It truly works. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. geocachingwithgeokids September 1, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    Had a great camping trip with family and friends (but crashed big time for the pack up & drive home) ๐Ÿ˜€

    • myjourneythrume September 2, 2013 at 11:59 am #

      I’m so glad to hear you had a great trip even if it made you crash, I’m sure it was worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • geocachingwithgeokids September 2, 2013 at 11:59 am #

        It was worth it ๐Ÿ˜€ but I should know better lol

      • myjourneythrume September 2, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

        I say that to myself so many times!

      • geocachingwithgeokids September 2, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

        Lol me too, here’s to a low pain day with a smidging of energy too ๐Ÿ˜€

      • myjourneythrume September 2, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

        Sounds good to me!

  4. Chronic Pain Heroes September 2, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    Thank you for reminding me to take the time to think about all the things that make me happy. For example, this evening we sat outside and watched a lightning storm (far enough away that it didn’t affect us, but close enough for an impressive show). I stayed out longer and sat there gazing at the stars. It was so peaceful. Definitely my happy place.

    • myjourneythrume September 2, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      That sounds so nice, a real happy place ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Health Update – September 2013 | my journey thru M.E. - September 20, 2013

    […] two months in, feels like a novelty. I’ve had a few down moments and been teary but overallย I am happy ย ย and much more balanced in my […]

Leave a Reply

