The Importance of Being Friends

28 Aug

friendshipAwww you guys are so sweet. I was so touched with all your kind thoughts and well wishes in response to my last post and I just wanted to say a big thank you.

When I started this blog connecting with others hadn’t really crossed my mind. I was new to the world of blogs (both as a reader and a writer) so I had no idea what a wonderful wonderful medium blogging was for connecting with like minded people.

All your kind wishes telling me you’d missed me last week really mean the world to me.

I have often searched through my reader looking for you, my online friends, and your recent posts when it has struck me that I haven’t read you for a while. I wondered if that was just me being the weird OCD, OTT obsessive type person that I am. But I am so happy to know that it’s not just me and in fact that it is a sign of growing friendships forged online through blogging. Yay for us πŸ™‚

I have posted before about friends I have lost due to my illness. It is just one of those things that seems inevitable when you are chronically ill for a long time. And yes I’m sad about it. But I kind of think they weren’t true friends. My true friends are the close friends who make the effort to visit me at home and who keep in touch with me despite me having been out of action for a long time (nearly 3 years) now. You know who you are girls, thank you.

For every friend I may have lost I have made a new, and dare I say better, friendship connection online through blogging. I consider you, my online friends, hugely important. I value your support dearly. You guys ‘get me’ so much more than the friends I have lost. Many of you are fighting your own chronic illness (or other) battle and/or share the same interests and passions as I do. We relate and support each other. So many times I have read one of your posts and thought ‘wow I could have written that, that is exactly how I feel / exactly what I’m going through…’ You take the time to know more about me and my life with ME/CFS than all of the friends I have lost put together.

Enough mush from me for one day. Suffice it to say that all your support means the world to me and I wouldn’t cope half as ‘well’ without it. Yay to friendships, both online and ‘real life’ πŸ™‚

Image credit unknown, found via pinterest.

11 Responses to “The Importance of Being Friends”

  1. currankentucky August 28, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    I will second that! Missed you and am currently missing E Milo 😦 Wishing you a good day with lots of smiles.xx

    • E. Milo August 28, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      This post made me smile and then Marie’s comment made me almost cry! Seriously, my online friendships are so important. It is so vital to feel needed somehow… To feel missed… Since this illness can make us feel so isolated and absent friends make us feel like maybe we never really existed out there in the healthy world. Love you ladies!

      • currankentucky August 28, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

        We have footprints… we exist… even if they are just on our bathroom floor!! Hugs to you both!

      • myjourneythrume August 28, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

        I am loving all the love on my blog today πŸ˜€ YAY!! Xxxx

      • myjourneythrume August 28, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

        Love you all too πŸ™‚ you’re so right, feeling needed, feeling missed makes us feel valued and appreciated, something that can get lost with chronic illness in the ‘real’ world. Thank goodness for the Internet and blogging!

    • myjourneythrume August 28, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Sending lots of smiles right back to you xxx

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor August 28, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    “Genuine” counts! I find the blog helpful because I worry about boring my friends and family I talk to with too much information! This way, a person can choose or not, to read along! Glad to “know” you!

    • myjourneythrume August 28, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Very glad to “know” you too! I’ve learnt so much from you and your blog πŸ™‚

  3. Chronic Pain Heroes August 29, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    You get back what you give out πŸ™‚ I appreciate your posts so very much. I feel less alone in my CFS weirdness. I always learn something new, laugh at your funny stories, and feel your pain. I have no doubt that it is your willingness to share so much of yourself that has made this such a close knit community. You are constantly in my prayers – both in giving thanks for having found you, and for your own health and healing.

    • myjourneythrume August 30, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Thank you so so much for what has got to be the loveliest comment I’ve ever had. I’m so glad we’ve connected and you’re so right this online community makes me feel far less alone. Thank you xx

Leave a Reply

