Body, are you kidding me?!

26 Aug

Hello World!

How are you all?

I’m so sorry for having been a bit MIA the last week. I didn’t mean to be so neglectful of my blog but I have had a really bad cold.

You might think a cold? Really? That’s not an excuse for not blogging or for life grinding to a halt. And yes you may have a point and a few years ago I’d have been right with you in thinking that but that was before my good friend ME/CFS moved in. A cold + ME/CFS = hideous, horrible, horrendous, horrific….

So yes I have spent most of the past week on the sofa head full off cold, stuffed up sinuses causing a constant dull headache, sweating one hour and then having goosebumps and shivering the next, with a very husky voice and sore throat. When I did venture of the sofa and did little things like make a cup of tea or write a short email to a close friend I was then whacked with full on sleepiness and aching muscles that sent me straight back to being horizontal.

So not a very fun week. Though I did manage to watch the whole of season 1 of Nashville, all 21 episodes! I mean what else is a girl to do when ill other then catch up with her favourite TV?! And by the way if you haven’t seen Nashville, do it now! Order the DVDs off Amazon now! You’re missing out my friend, the music is amazing and Deacon…. Well no words πŸ˜‰

The cold seems to be passing now, Thank Goodness. I don’t mean to grumble. I think I handle all the junk that ME/CFS throws at me fairly calmly. But a cold? In August? Body are you friggin kidding me?! Is it not enough that you gave me much worse myalgia pain and fatigue during my holiday and last week I felt like I was fighting treacle each time I moved? Really was that not enough junk for one month? No? No apparently you didn’t think so.

Well body I’m sticking two fingers up at you and moving on. You are not going to win this health battle. I am. Onwards and upwards, here’s to health improving and no more colds!

24 Responses to “Body, are you kidding me?!”

  1. Kristina Schwende August 26, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Oh sweetie, please don’t feel badly for not blogging. I think you already impressed many of us with surviving your move back with Mr. B, plus the rigors of traveling to /from your vacation villa (though the villa in France was nice compensation πŸ˜‰ We had our sons visiting for a week. I didn’t even have to go anywhere and my body imploded the day after they left! You rest well. Try some Oil of Oregano – just 2 drops under the tongue (warning, it tastes awful so have a coffee, tea, or other beverage to chase it down after about 30-60 secs). I hope you get well very soon (blame your cold on the nasty airplane air).

    • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      I blame the airplane too. I may wear a mask the next time I fly, whenever that may be. Thank you so much for your kind words, that means so much and was a real pick me up to read πŸ™‚ Thank you for the oil of oregano tip, not heard that one before I shall have to try it. I hope your body is recovering from its implosion πŸ™‚

      • BONNIE JOHNSON August 26, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

        I ALREADY REPLIED, BUT FORGOT TO SAY ”THIEVES” IS APPLIED TO SOLES OF FEET–BEFORE & AFTER FLYING–ANY TIME U HAVE BEEN OR MAY BE EXPOSED TO BUGS GOING AROUND! IT IS TRULY AMAZING. IT IS BASED ON THE BLACK PLAGUE WHEN THIEVES WERE ROBBING BODIES & NOT GETTING IT! THEY WERE APPLYING A NUMBER OF OILS!!

      • myjourneythrume August 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

        Thanks for the great tip, I’m definitely going to google Thieves and see if I can get some over here.

      • BONNIE JOHNSON August 27, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

        YOUNGLIVING .COM–YOU WILL FIND LOTS OF EXCITING INFO & ABOUT THEIR MANY OILS & BLENDS ON THEIR SIGHT. THEY ALSO HAVE A FACEBOOK PAGE–IF U WANT ME TO SEND INFO, LET ME KNOW YOUR EMAIL. THIS IS A TRULY FACINATING COMPANY–GROWN TO WORLD WIDE AUTHORITY ON ESSENTIAL OILS IN 20 YEARS–HAVE MANY FARMS & DISTILLERIES PRODUCING OILS–”FROM SEED TOSEAL”! YOU WILL FIND HOW TO JOIN UP & GET ALL THE BENEFITS, IF U DECIDE THAT WOULD BE A GOOD THING–IT IS!! MY MEMBER # IS 442161. HAPPY RESEARCHING! MY DREAM HAS ALWAYS BEEN TO VISIT THEIR HOME OFFICE & FARMS; THEY HAVE AMAZING TOURS & ACTIVITIES! MEMBERS CAN EVEN GO & BE INVOLVED IN SEEDING &/OR HARVESTING. VERY NEAT.

      • myjourneythrume August 28, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

        That’s so cool! Thanks to telling me about them.

  2. currankentucky August 26, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    O no, you poor thing, colds and ME are beyond horribleness. I hope giving it the fingers helped and it will soon move on…

    • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      The fingers seem to have done the trick. I’m feeling noticeably better today…all things being relative of course! Hope you’re managing to enjoy some of this late summer sunshine.

      • currankentucky August 26, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

        Great to hear it, I got out for a walk around the house today!!! So happy!!!

      • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

        Me too! Yay for us πŸ™‚ and the sunshine was just gorgeous.

  3. thehomeschoolingdoctor August 26, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    I was thinking last night I should e-mail you and see what’s up! Don’t mind you not blogging, but you get a little worried wondering what’s up! Sorry about the cold! Take good care of yourself!!!

    • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

      Awh thank you Terri. I’m sorry if I worried you! Tho it’s so nice to know you missed me πŸ™‚ I know the other week when you were away I wondered where’s the homeschooling doctor’s post and hoped you were okay. I’m okay… ‘Just’ a cold.. I’m doing better today.

      • thehomeschoolingdoctor August 26, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

        New friends πŸ™‚ ! It IS nice to know somebody is thinking of you! Let’s keep posting!

      • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

        Yay to being friends and to keeping posting. I was thinking earlier how my online friends know more about my life at the moment and my illness than my ‘real life friends’. I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing…

    • E. Milo August 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      I Missed You, ToO. Evil Cold.. I Shudder To Think. Well Done For getting Through It! (Why Does My Phone Do ThIs With The Capitals?!)

      • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

        Awh thank you. That means a lot and has made me smile πŸ™‚ I am now out the other side of the Evil Cold thank GOODNESS! Your capitals are funny!

  4. Jackie August 26, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m happy you’re back. I had a cold last week too!

    • myjourneythrume August 26, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      What’s with all these summer colds?! Hope you’re feeling better now.

  5. BONNIE JOHNSON August 26, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    I SEE MY GOOD FRIEND, KRISTINA WROTE IN–U’VE REACHED ALL THE WAY TO WESTERN CANADA–BEAUTIFUL B.C. & ALBERTA! KRISTINA IS RIGHT ABOUT POWERFUL OREGENO. I’VE BEEN USING AN ESSENTIAL OIL BLEND CALLED ”THIEVES” SINCE I GOT CFS 11 YEARS AGO TO WARD OF COLDS & FLUS–NOT HAD ONE!!! THAT’S ALL WE NEED IS TO GET ANOTHER VIRUS. PURE THERAPEUTIC OILS ARE ONE OF THE FEW THINGS THAT ATTACK VIRUSES. NOW WE NEED THEIR GREAT RESEARCH TEAM TO COME UP WITH A TREATMENT FOR CFS/ME! I’D NEVER SURVIVE IF NOT FOR THEIR PRODUCTS FOR PAIN & I BELIEVE MY CFS WOULD BE MUCH WORSE IF NOT FOR ”YOUNG LIVING’S” POWERFUL OILS. THEY HAVE BECOME A OR THE WORLD LEADER IN THE FIELD OF THERAPEUTIC, PURE OILS. FEEL FREE TO EMAIL ME IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS–THEY’LL BE AVAILABLE IN ENGLAND. ibelieveinyl@hotmail.com BE WELL!

    • myjourneythrume August 27, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      Well I think your experience has pretty much sold these oils to me! Thanks so much for the encouragement.

  6. Trisha August 27, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    I understand all too well. A cold is never “just” a cold when combined with chronic illnesses .

    I love Nashville and can’t wait for the new season to start!

    • myjourneythrume August 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Me too, can’t wait for season 2! Not sure when that will be here tho.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Importance of Being Friends | my journey thru M.E. - August 28, 2013

    […] guys are so sweet. I was so touched with all your kind thoughts and well wishes in response to my last post and I just wanted to say a big thank […]

  2. Step away from the computer! | my journey thru M.E. - August 30, 2013

    […] I had been out for my walk – for a whole 12 minutes…what with the trip to France and a bad cold I’m back at the beginning with my paced walking, but that’s a different story. So yes […]

Leave a Reply

