Pleasure Before Work

4 Aug

Ask for help whenever possible, use your precious energy for enjoyable happy activities over and above chores. Not always possible or practical, but if you can put arrangements in place so you don’t have to cook for yourself, do your laundry or clean your house when you’re not feeling up to it. Doing something happy, for me that’s blogging, chatting with a friend or my family, doing some yoga, going for a little walk, is so much better for your health than cleaning the bathroom sink. Having just moved back to London to my flat with Mr B, this piece of advice is ever more pertinent. My wonderful Mum has filled my freezer with home made Jess ready meals so that I don’t have to use my energy, or stress about, feeding myself. We have hired a cleaning lady and laundry will get done by Mr B as and when we really need it – luckily we have lots of clothes! Yes it is so hard to sit back and have to ask for help but recovery is ultimately the most important thing over and above all else. I thought Jackie’s advice was so important I’m reposting it here.

4 Responses to “Pleasure Before Work”

  1. RunGirl82 August 4, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    I definitely agree with this! It is very hard to accept, I know. Trust me, I know! But the thing is, the less labour intensive you can make the things in your life that ‘don’t’ matter (in the sense of the personal satisfaction and joy it brings), the more time and energy you will have to put into what ‘does’ matter. I try to always ask myself the question, “is this worth my energy?” and I try to limit my energy expenditure to what I feel the activity deserves/warrants. Does it make for a perfectly neat home and everything as organised as I’d like? No. But it allows me to stay focused on what I need to and what counts most!

    • myjourneythrume August 4, 2013 at 11:55 am #

      You’ve got it exactly right. Is this worth my energy? That is the key question and one that I ask myself constantly. It was and still is, hard to let the little things go, and to let the things that don’t really matter go. But would I rather the energy to blog and do some yoga? Or would I rather spend the afternoon wiped out and horizontal on the sofa exhausted from cleaning the bathroom? A bit of no brainer!!

  2. Jackie August 4, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    Thanks for the reblog! I appreciate it. 😊

    • myjourneythrume August 6, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      You’re welcome πŸ™‚ It was such good advice I had no choice but to reblog it.

Leave a Reply

