A Little Holiday Update From The Pool Side

4 Aug
Cooling off with a dip in the pool. Photo by Jess B.

Cooling off with a dip in the pool. Photo by Jess B.

Hello from La Dordogne in France! I’m writing this from my sun lounger by the pool side πŸ™‚

Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

We have been here just over a week and are having an utterly blissful time. Our days are made up of laying by the pool, me in the shade of a big umbrella whilst Mr B bakes himself in the sun, delicious simple food cooked on the BBQ and lots of meditation rest breaks for me back in the coolness of the house. My only other activity is little dips in the cool refreshing water of our swimming pool and the odd bit of yoga outside on the grass every so often so my body doesn’t completely forget how to down dog.

We’ve gone with my family to the local market town Martel a couple of times for a little wander around the market stocking up on fresh olives and fruits, walnuts and saucisson (regional specialities) and plenty of smelly cheese and super fresh crunchy French baguettes. Oh how I do love a good French market! Mr B has done a sterling job of pushing me in my wheelchair across the cobbles and up the slopes of the winding streets, very nearly expiring in the 35 degree + heat!

But most of the time we are content just to rest and relax by the pool in the tranquil gardens of our holiday home.

Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

Little miss ME/CFS is being moderately well behaved. The travel didn’t catch up with me straight away. The little minx lulled me into a bit of a false sense of security and the post travel fatigue didn’t kick in for a few days. I’m definitely more tired than my usual and myalgia pain has spiked a couple of times leaving me feeling really crappy. But with nothing more to do than to lay in the shade and rest, things could be a lot worse.

Other than eating more meat than usual – barbecued vegetables just aren’t the same – I am being very, in fact amazingly, good food wise. Not a single crusty bread crumb or morsel of cheese has passed my lips. Tho at breakfast today I did hold Mr B’s pain au chocolat up to my nose and inhale deeply the rich gorgeous chocolate buttery smell of freshly baked French goodness! He didn’t seem too keen on eating it after that, can’t imagine why!

Right time for me to sign off and get back to my snoozing by the pool.

Happy summer holidays everyone.

5 Responses to “A Little Holiday Update From The Pool Side”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor August 5, 2013 at 2:28 am #

    I am so happy your body is being fairly cooperative! I can smell that “chocolate bread” from here! Mmmmm.

    • myjourneythrume August 6, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      This morning saw me smelling ‘pain au raisin’ a croissant filled with custard and raisins in a twirly shape. I came so close to taking a bite. But I didn’t. Do not need to feel worse than I do right now, my body seems to have misplaced the behave memo…

  2. Ami Hallgarth August 5, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    so pleased to hear you’re enjoying what sounds like a truly blissful holiday! Sounds like exactly what the doctor ordered…

    • myjourneythrume August 6, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thanks Ami! It was definitely what the doctor ordered πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Somersaults in the Air: the fun of flying with POTS and ME/CFS Part 1 | my journey thru M.E. - September 5, 2013

    […] regular readers of my blog will know I recently went on holiday to FranceΒ with Mr B and my […]

Leave a Reply

