Je vais en vacance en France!

29 Jul
Our destination. Photo source fleuretholidays.com

Our destination. Photo source fleuretholidays.com

When you read this, I will be laying on a sun lounger in the shade of an umbrella basking in the clear blue skies and warmth of the Mediterranean sun.  Mr B and I are joining my family in France for two weeks at a villa with nothing but relaxing by the pool, delicious food and quality time together.

Today, Saturday morning, my head is filled with a million things to remember to sort out (water plants, take rubbish out, give keys to my neighbour…you know the list) before we leave and another million things to remember to take with me. Travelling with ME/CFS is a bit like travelling with a small demanding toddler! You can’t just jump up (both literally and figuratively speaking) and spontaneously leave. Luckily I like planning and lists. Supplements for 14 days (4 types) check, prescription drugs for 14 days (6 kinds) + extra supply of co-codamol in case little miss ME / CFS decides to rebel and flare up due to the travel, the sun or the change in location….you get the picture. D-ribose energy solution check, saline solution check, digestive enzymes and pre – and pro -biotics, check. Snacks and food supplies (going to the land of croissants, vin rouge and fromage with my dietary restrictions…ummm good luck!) check and check. Gosh I’m exhausted even thinking about it all. And I haven’t even got to the ‘normal’ packing like bikinis, a good book and toiletries!

French countryside. Photo source fleuretholidays.com

French countryside. Photo source fleuretholidays.com

Luckily as I say I am quite the planner and have gradually been sorting things out over the last week so that today, Saturday, the day before we leave, I can rest as much as possible. And rest today I must and will. Not least, because I’ve had friends visit (for a couple of hours each) the last two days – I know how dare I – and I’m pretty achy and wiped out today as a result. I am sat writing this with my laptop balanced on my lap so that I can have my feet up high to try and easy the throbbing and ankle crushing pressure pain. But hey, it was so nice to see both of my friends and their offspring and today I can and will rest. And once the travel is over tomorrow, I have 14 beautiful days stretching out in front of me, to do nothing but rest on a sun lounger, in the shade of course (little miss ME / CFS gets aggravated if in the sun for too long) with the odd dip and float in the cooling pool. B.L.I.S.S and just what my doctors ordered.

photo source fleuretholidays.com

photo source fleuretholidays.com

This holiday is a throw back to my childhood when we used to holiday in France most years. Then we used to take the ferry Portsmouth to Caen and take a couple of days to slowly drive across France to reach our destination of the Dordogne or South of France with my sister and I practising (read being forced to practice) our French when looking for a chambre d’hôte to stay for the night en route. 

Martel. Photo source: tripadvisor.com

Martel. Photo source: tripadvisor.com

My parents and sister have done the same this year. They sailed on Thursday and then have spent a couple of days driving and meandering (with a little getting lost thrown in for a true throw back to our younger years)  their way down to Martel, a quaint medieval, quintessential small French market town in the heart of the Dordogne, not far from Brive.  We are renting a recently restored holiday villa (or gite if we’re going truly French) a couple of kilometres outside of Martel (close enough for an easy run for fresh croissants each morning)  complete with private pool, lush gardens and outside kitchen. It’s going to be amazing. The main house sleeps 4 with the third double bedroom located a little way from the main house across the garden in the old bread oven that has been converted into a large double bedroom studio apartment complete with mezzanine living area. Mr B and I are staying in the bread oven (the irony that I can’t eat bread and yet I’m sleeping in a bread oven is not lost on me…) so we have our space but my family are all there close by too. Perfect.

The bread oven! Photo source fleuretholidays.com

The bread oven! Photo source fleuretholidays.com

Mr B and I decided to fly to Brive as this seemed the better option for me and my good friend ME / CFS than 2 days in a car. We are lucky that we only live about 20 minutes away from London City Airport and the flight time is just under 1 hour 30 minutes. London City is a tiny airport which again is better for me. We’re taking my wheelchair so that I don’t have to use what little energy I have walking in the airport. I will have my blindfold, noise cancellation headphones, neck support cushion and plenty of meditation tracks to help me rest on the flight. And once we land we are only a 20 minute drive to the gite.

So hopefully we’ve covered all our bases to mean a wonderful holiday during which ME / CFS will behave. Everyone keep their fingers crossed for me on that one 🙂

We should have WIFI at the house so I should be able to blog a little whislt I’m away. But don’t be alarmed if my posts are a bit sporadic – I haven’t fallen off a cliff or anything, just taking a little vacation! Though being that annoying type A personality and a planner, there may be a post or two pre-scheduled so you don’t miss me too much 🙂

Are you going on holiday (British English) or vacation (American English) or en vacances (Français)? If you are, hope you have a fab time. Happy summer holidays everyone 🙂

16 Responses to “Je vais en vacance en France!”

  1. Chronic Pain Heroes July 29, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    How lovely! This sounds like a much needed vacation for you and Mr. B. I have never been to Europe and long for the day when I have the energy to travel that long, then see ALL the castles, museums, and other architectural wonders to my heart’s delight! I look forward to hearing all about your trip and seeing some lovely pictures (with maybe a castle or two ;-). Take good care of yourself.

    • myjourneythrume July 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      Thank you. One benefit of living in the UK is its proximity to Europe! Will be sure to take lots of pics to post to wet your appetite for your future trip 🙂

  2. thehomeschoolingdoctor July 29, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Rubbish = Trash. 🙂 Have a super relaxing time. That is A LOT to pack!

  3. currankentucky July 29, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Enjoy the vacation, and I hope ME stays at bay and behaves herself 🙂

  4. Jackie July 29, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Yay for a relaxing vacation!! I could relate so much to having to start packing super early in order to remember everything. Brain fog/memory issues plus having twice as much very essential items that are needed daily is a cruel combo. I hope you enjoy yourself, it looks like an amazing time!

    So now, a little chat sick girl to sick girl. Please remember that although you may not be able to do all you used to do on these vacations, whatever you can do is enough. No one is pressuring you except you. Sometimes my family and friends used to feel like they were pressuring me, when really the truth was they just felt bad for me and wanted me to have fun. Once I explained things like, “I don’t want to go to the water park. It actually doesn’t sound fun because of how I know it would make me feel, but I would think it was fun for you guys to go. You guys going doesn’t make me feel bad that I can’t. I’ll take a relaxing bath and read my book while you are gone. Really, you guys should be jealous of me. 🙂 ” So yeah, just remember to always explain what you’re feeling anytime you start to feel pressure, upset, or misunderstanding. Also “catch em being good.” I try and comment when someone does something differently than they normally would with me in mind. You probably know all this, but you and I have a lot in common, and even though I intellectually know all of this, I need reminded because I want to please everyone and do everything and everyone to be happy… ALL of the time. 🙂

    • myjourneythrume July 30, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

      You’re so right, although I do know all that I definitely need reminding. I explained what you’d said to my other half and family over lunch. We were talking about the plan to go to the local market tomorrow morning. And I said I wasn’t sure I should go, I’m still pretty tired from the flight on Sunday and a trip to a health food store yesterday to buy allergen goodies (rice milk, rice crackers, nut butter, i know you know the like!) that became epic in length from than short and sharp as I’d hoped. So I should probably have a few quiet rest days but I said “but if you want me to come to the market then I will”. Their responses were what you said that they want me to do what I want/ need. The only pressure is my own. I said that I’d happily stay at the villa while they all went, I didn’t want them to miss out cos of me, thus removing that potential stress.

      We are very similar! I totally relate to your last sentence about trying to please and wanting everyone to be happy all the time. If my Dad seems grumpy it makes me stressed and i become OTT trying to prevent it. and yesterday i was stressing cos it wasnt that sunny and i was worried Mr B wasnt having a good time. of course the sunshine is not my responsibility and he told me to stop being silly!

      Although of course I wish you weren’t sick, it is so nice having you to chat with about it all as you totally understand and our things in common go way beyond the basics of day to day living sick – your whole approach to recovery is the same as mine – proactive, curious, positive. Very glad I’ve ‘met you’ 🙂

      • Jackie July 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

        Yay for your family being understanding people and you being brave enough to put yourself out there by declining to go to the store! I giggled out loud when I read about you being worried Mr B wasn’t having a good time because of the sunshine. I’m happy you voice your thought when you think like that so he can tell you you’re thinking silly. 🙂 I am also very happy to have met you! We have a lot in common and it is nice to have another positive person in my life who knows what I am going through.

  5. Miss P July 29, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Have a fab time! =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Step away from the computer! | my journey thru M.E. - August 30, 2013

    […] try to explain. I had been out for my walk – for a whole 12 minutes…what with the trip to France and a bad cold I’m back at the beginning with my paced walking, but that’s a different […]

  2. Somersaults in the Air: the fun of flying with POTS and ME/CFS Part 1 | my journey thru M.E. - September 5, 2013

    […] If you want to read about our wonderful holiday in France you can do so here, here and here. […]

  3. Flying with ME/CFS: My Top Tips | my journey thru M.E. - September 9, 2013

    […] is possible. Does the end justify the means? I always try and keep that in mind. In the case of our family holiday in France or a trip to visit my sister in the US, do I wish I hadn’t done these? Hell NO! The happy […]

  4. Mashed, puréed, blended or blitzed, give me baby food and my body is happy | my journey thru M.E. - September 11, 2013

    […] haven’t cheated and had any, not even a tiny bit, of my trigger foods AT ALL since I came back from France a month ago. And the only trigger food I had during my holiday was a couple of sips of wine (grapes […]

  5. My Journey Thru M.E. Part 3: 2013 Turning the Corner | my journey thru M.E. - December 5, 2014

    […] week family holiday in the South of France. Mr B and I flew out and I experienced the worst dizziness and nausea during […]

Leave a Reply

