A Crunchy Nutty Gorgeous Granola

20 Jul
My perfect breakfast granola. Photo by Jess B.

My perfect breakfast granola. Photo by Jess B.

As a teenager I hated breakfast. I didn’t think it was ‘cool’ to eat it and so didn’t want to. But my Mum, thankfully, refused to give in to my teenage grump and wouldn’t let me leave the house without something in my tummy.

How times change. Now I LOVE breakfast!

And one reason I love breakfast so much is that you get to eat delicious oaty nutty healthy things like this homemade granola. This recipe is quick and easy to throw together and tastes amazing. Using the ingredients I list below, this granola  is free from gluten, dairy, egg, almond & brazil, coconut, wheat, and soya so complies with my recently acquired long list of food intolerances! With sweetness coming from the dates and honey, this granola is also refined sugar free. The oats form the perfect high soluble fibre base for any unhappy IBS tummies.

Serve your cunchy nutty wholesome granola with milk and fruit of choice. My preference is rice milk with bananas (added soluble fibre) and strawberries which brighten up the bowl beautifully. Doesn’t that just sound like the perfect way to start the day?

Ingredients (makes 8 – 10 servings) 

  • 100g dried dates
  • 200g gluten free oats
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 80g cashews
  • 80g walnuts
  • 30g pumpkin seeds
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
Blended dates. Photo by Jess B.

Blended dates. Photo by Jess B.

Cashews and walnuts. Photo by Jess B.

Cashews and walnuts. Photo by Jess B.

The 'too small' sauce pan full of raw granola! Photo by Jess B.

The ‘too small’ sauce pan full of raw granola! Photo by Jess B.

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160ºC / 325ºF / Gas Mark 3 (if fan assisted reduce by 20 degrees)
  2. Spread baking parchment on two baking sheets
  3. Place the dates in a large saucepan (not a small one like I used in the pics unless you want oats all over the place in step 5!) in about 1 inch of boiling water until they are nice and soft (about 20 – 25 mins but depends on size & softness of your dates to start with)
  4. Once the dates are nice and soft, blend them until smooth.
  5. Add all the remaining ingredients to the saucepan along with the dates and mix thoroughly (if you’re an ME/CFSer like me, you may need to borrow someone’s arms for this bit).
  6. Once well combined spread the mixture onto your baking sheets and bake in the oven for 15 minutes until golden.
  7. After 15 minutes, reduce the oven temperature to 110ºC / 225ºF / Gas Mark 1/4 (again 20 degrees less for fan assisted) and bake for a further 30 minutes until the granola is dry and crisp.
  8. Leave to cool completely on the baking sheets and then store in an airtight container. It will keep for a good few weeks, if you don’t eat it all way before then!

Recipe adapted from Honestly Healthy.

4 Responses to “A Crunchy Nutty Gorgeous Granola”

  1. thehomeschoolingdoctor July 20, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Mmmmm. Granola. A real favorite!

  2. Alison Gibson July 26, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    Thank you, I need some more breakfast variety and this looks great! I think I might make some this weekend.

    • myjourneythrume July 26, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      Glad you like it 🙂 I finished my last batch off this morning so I need to make some more this weekend too.

Leave a Reply

