A Recipe for a Summer’s Day: Frozen Banana Pops!

14 Jul
Mr Banana Pop enjoying the sunshine out in the garden. Photo by Jess B.

Mr Banana Pop enjoying the sunshine out in the garden. Photo by Jess B.

Summer has finally arrived.

Yesterday the temperature outside hit a balmy 24°C – mid 70s Farenheit for all you non Brit readers! This is positively tropical for rural north east England!

Photo by Jess B.

Photo by Jess B.

Inside the house, well inside my compression stockings (that I’m now wearing to help with the dizziness and purple feet issues) at least, I swear the temperature hit 40°C / 100°F +. Oh my gosh July at the peak of British summer was not the time to need to start wearing compression stockings. I can not tell you how hot my little legs are! How you POTS readers living in far warmer climes than Britain cope, I have no idea!

With the temperature rising – “barometer’s getting low, according to all sources, the street’s the place to go…It’s raining men!”

Sorry, as I typed the start of that sentence The Weather Girls song popped into my head reminding me of my student days & nights out in cheesy clubs in Cambridge!

Song lyrics tangent aside – with the weather finally nice and hot, I decided it was time to make a frozen dessert. As previously mentioned, the list of Jess friendly foods has shrunk in the last few weeks, so buying ice cream that I can eat is now basically impossible.

Drum roll please….enter my new staple foods: bananas and dark chocolate! Yep that’s what it is people. A frozen dessert made from (amongst other things) bananas and dark chocolate. These are soooo quick and easy to make (who wants to be slaving away in a hot kitchen on a hot summer’s day? Not me in my compression stockings for starters!).

Fresh Fruit ready to go! Photo by Jess B.

Fresh Fruit ready to go! Photo by Jess B.

Lots of fresh fruit, a few nuts, some milk, throw it all in your blender and Bob’s your Uncle (what does that expression mean?!) you’re already half way to having a very happy, healthy and refreshing summer treat. What’s more, the bananas provide a nice high soluble fibre base to keep our digestions happy 🙂

Using the ingredients I list below, these babies are free from: gluten, dairy, eggs, soya, wheat, almonds, coconut, brazils, yeast. They are also very low refined sugar too – only refined sugar being that in the dark chocolate. I used 74% cocoa dark chocolate and general rule of thumb is the higher the cocoa content the lower the sugar (and dairy) content – at 74% there is no dairy. Not a drop.

Pop gets a close up! Photo by Jess B.

Mr Banana Pop. Photo by Jess B.

Right enough waffling. Here’s the recipe. Make, chill, enjoy.

This quantity made me 18 pops.

Ingredients

  • 3 bananas
  • 1/2 a small whole fresh pineapple
  • 1 cup of hazelnut milk
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped strawberries
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts
  • 60g dark chocolate
  • 1/2 tsp dairy free Pure sunflower spread
Naked Pops! Photo by Jess B.

Naked Pops! Photo by Jess B.

With their chocolate coats! Photo by Jess B.

With their chocolate coats! Photo by Jess B.

Method

  1. Place the bananas, pineapple and milk in the blender and blitz until smooth.
  2. Add the strawberries and walnuts to the blender and mix through with a spoon (don’t blend) in order to keep the pieces intact.
  3. Pour the mixture into popsicle molds or silicone cake cases and freeze for a couple of hours until solid.
  4. After a couple of hours, place the chocolate and dairy free spread in a small bowl and microwave on medium power until melted, stopping the microwave and stirring the chocolate a couple of times as you go.
  5. Whilst the chocolate is melting place baking parchment on a couple of baking sheets.
  6. Once the chocolate is melted you’re ready to go! Time to get messy (or perhaps that’s just me)!
  7. Remove the frozen delights from the freezer and carefully relieve them of their cases/molds placing them on the baking parchment.
  8. Using a teaspoon drizzle the chocolate over the frozen pops and pop the pops back in the freezer for a few minutes to set the chocolate.
  9. Sit back in a deck chair in your garden and enjoy a nice and refreshing, happy and healthy Frozen Banana Pop! Delicious even if I do say so myself 🙂

Quick note on molds to freeze these bad boys in – if you’re using silicone cake cases  instead of proper popsicle / ice lolly molds, which don’t have sticks, remove your pops from the freezer about 30 mins before you want to eat them so that they soften enough to be able to get a spoon into them without sending poor old Mr Pop flying! I left mine on the kitchen side and after 20 – 30 mins they were soft enough to easily eat. You could also thaw them for longer in the fridge.

Eat me! Eat me! Frozen Banana Pop. Photo by Jess B.

Eat me! Eat me! Frozen Banana Pop. Photo by Jess B.

Recipe adapted from Pocketfuls food blog.

12 Responses to “A Recipe for a Summer’s Day: Frozen Banana Pops!”

  1. theconnorsseur July 14, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Using cake moulds is a great idea. Never thought of that; it saves you having to go and buy some moulds! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • myjourneythrume July 14, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂 yes the cake molds made things much easier 🙂

  2. currankentucky July 14, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    I am soooo going to try these. Thanks so much, you really are the queen of all things good!

    • myjourneythrume July 14, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      Thank you for your lovely comment! Made me smile 🙂

  3. thehomeschoolingdoctor July 14, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    They’re lovely! What is their texture when slightly softened?

    • myjourneythrume July 14, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks! Texture wise the ones done in the cake molds are creamy but sort of splinter a bit when pressed. Basically a creamy iced lolly that you can cut with a spoon.

  4. pollyannaplan July 14, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    Sounds and looks DELICIOUS! I’m going to give these a try – although I’ll have to substitute a couple of things. I’m very impressed with your presentation too!! 🙂 xx

    • myjourneythrume July 14, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Thanks for a lovely comment. What do you need to change? The original recipe had coconut milk in which I had to sub for the hazelnut. The presentation was more my mum than me! Post a pic if you do make them 🙂 xx

      • pollyannaplan July 14, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

        Will do! Although I can guarantee my presentation won’t look nearly as good as your Mum’s! 😉 I can substitute almond milk for hazelnut and I think coconut oil will work as a sub for sunflower spread. What do you reckon? xx

      • myjourneythrume July 14, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

        Yep I think that will work fine, it’s only a tiny amount anyway. I look forward to seeing the outcome of your handy work 🙂

  5. RunGirl82 July 15, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    Nice recipe Jess! I have been wanting to try out the banana icecream for a while, just never got around to it (and I love bananas so they tend to go before I get a chance to freeze them LOL). I wish I could get into cooking… it’s just not my thing!

Leave a Reply

