A(n) (almost) Perfect Saturday – with no thanks to BA

30 Apr
Chocolate brownies with peanut butter frosting. Gluten Free. Photo by Jess B.

Chocolate brownies with peanut butter frosting. Gluten Free. Photo by Jess B.

Last Saturday morning I woke up stupidly early, shortly after 5.30am. I turned over and tried desperately hard to go back to sleep. After a little while I gave up. My mind had started to whirl and over think. I picked up my iPhone to give my mind a distraction so as to prevent myself from needing to do a million STOPS before breakfast.

I was greeted on my iPhone by several What’s App messages from my dear friend Ruby telling me she had given birth to a beautiful baby girl the night before. Whilst I was awh-ing over the photo of Ruby’s new daughter, a message from Mr B popped onto the screen. “Have you read my text?” it said. The answer to which was no…I was too busy digesting vital baby stats (born at 7.21pm, weighing 8lb 3oz, 18 hour labour etc)!

Flicking over to texts on my phone I read Mr B’s earlier message “flight’s been cancelled, am on tomorrows”.  Nooooo, this was really rubbish. I had expected to wake up to find Mr B in the air on his way to Philly. Apparently British Airways had a different idea. Flight BA 0067 London to Philadelphia Saturday April 27 at 12.35 pm had been cancelled hours earlier for some inexplicable reason. After several very angry (Mr B is notorious for being Mr grumpy and obstreperous when dealing with customer services…I often pity the person on the other of the phone and yes he has been hung up on more than once!) and seriously unhelpful phone conversations with BA, Mr B  was none the wiser as to the cause of the cancellation, but had at least secured a seat on the same flight the next day.

So Saturday had got off to a mixed start: the high of Ruby’s baby news slightly dampened by BA’s utter rubbishness. But at least Mr B got a day on our sofa watching Sky Sports (every man’s preferred past-time?) and I got another day with my sister all to myself. So all was not lost and Lou and I had a really lovely day.

Beautiful blossom en route to Greenline. Photo by Jess B.

Beautiful blossom en route to Green Line. Photo by Jess B.

First up we embraced the obstacle course that is riding and pushing a wheelchair along West Philly pavements (think totally uneven and cracked concrete slabs with bumps, drop offs and crevices calling out for wheelchair wheels to get stuck in..) and headed to Lou’s neighbourhood coffee house Green Line Cafe.

Green Line Cafe West Philly. Photo by Jess B.

Green Line Cafe West Philly. Photo by Jess B.

Gluten free bagel at GreenLine Cafe. Photo by Jess B.

Gluten free bagel at GreenLine Cafe. Photo by Jess B.

Here I enjoyed a gluten free bagel and jasmine green tea whilst Lou had a giant coffee and pain au chocolat (getting in the spirit early she said for our holiday to France later in the summer).

Once we were suitably carbed and caffeined up we made our way to Clarke Park where there is a small farmer’s market on Saturday mornings. It was a gorgeous Spring morning, mild and with totally clear blue skies. The glorious weather made perusing the various offerings of the market even more enjoyable. We bought some giant organic carrots, apples and mushrooms as well as delicious looking Cheddar cheese bread for Lou’s lunch. One stall even had a few homemade gluten free baked goodies. Did we buy some? Silly question, of course we did!! I chose some peanut butter frosted chocolate brownies and a chocolate chip cookie.

Clarke Park Farmer's Market. Photo by Jess B.

Clarke Park Farmer’s Market. Photo by Jess B.

Clarke Park Farmer's Market. Photo by Jess B.

Clarke Park Farmer’s Market. Photo by Jess B.

Grandma's Gone Gluten Free goodies at the Farmer's Market. Photo by Jess B.

Grandma’s Gone Gluten Free goodies at the Farmer’s Market. Photo by Jess B.

We spent the afternoon hanging out at Lou’s apartment watching Parks and Rec, drinking tea (and eating the aforementioned brownies..). I did lots of relaxation tracks and talked to Mr B and our Mum and Dad on Skype. We even managed to fit in a little yoga following this yoga journal podcast.

A light dinner. Photo by Jess B.

A light dinner. Photo by Jess B.

After a really simple yet decidedly delicious dinner of scrambled eggs on toast with sauteed mushrooms, onion and spinach we went out for an early evening stroll to another of Lou’s local neighbourhood highspots – the popsicle shop!

Popsicles! Can you guess the flavours? Photo by Jess B.

Popsicles! Can you guess the flavours? Photo by Jess B.

Lil’ Pop Shop is an amazing little place, just around the corner from Lou’s place, that sells delicious homemade all natural popsicles (ice lollies to us Brits!). They come in both dairy and dairy free varieties. Their flavours range from pineapple and basil, coconut hibiscus, salted caramel chocolate brownie to mango ginger, earl grey and spicy mayan chocolate to name just a few. Having made the difficult flavour choice Lou and I sat outside the shop in the evening sun and ate our popsicles, they were soooo good! I had blueberry maple coconut (dairy and sugar free) whilst Lou decided to be adventurous (she assured me she’d had all the chocolate flavours on more than one occasion!) and had goat’s cheese, rosemary and apple. Their was a lovely atmosphere with undergrads having a study popsicle break and lots of people popping in for a popsicle after eating at one of the several independent eateries on the same street.

A couple more episodes of Parks and Rec and an early night (I was pretty wiped out thanks to my super early wake up) rounded off an almost perfect Saturday. If it wasn’t for BA’s cancellation of Mr B’s flight for no apparent reason, it really would have been a perfect a day.

P.s. As I sit writing this on Sunday morning, I am very pleased to say that BA is behaving today and Mr B’s flight is airborne, and he is on his way to Philly. So excited!!!!

Leave a Reply

