Thank You

23 Apr
I'm lucky to have such a wonderfully supportive family. Photo Source: One Velvet Morning, a WordPress blog.

Photo Source: One Velvet Morning.

I’m really lucky to have such a wonderfully supportive family.

Having ME / CFS means I need more help and support than your average (nearly) 29 year old. My Mum and Dad made my trip to Philadelphia possible by accompanying me on the trip. They didn’t intend a big trip this year and I’m so grateful for the sacrifices they’ve made to make this trip possible. They have looked after me in every sense over the last few weeks. I would not have coped without them.

Today is my Mum and Dad’s last day in Philly before they fly home. They pass the baton to my sister Lou and Mr B who are both incredibly supportive and will give me all the help and support I need to enable me to enjoy the last two weeks of my trip.

I hate that I need so much support and feel guilty that I am such a burden, it’s not where I thought or wanted to be at this stage of my life. But it is what it is, and I am so so fortunate to have such a wonderfully supportive and loving family around me.

As it’s my Mum and Dad’s last day, I wanted to say to them both:

A HUGE THANK YOU for all the support you’ve given me, both during this trip and always. The list of what you do for me is too long for a blog post (it’s more suitable for an epic novel), but please know I really really appreciate it all.

Enjoy the peace and tranquility of the next fortnight (before I arrive home) and try not to worry too much. I will be fine, you have trained Lou and Mr B very well in looking after me.

Thank you so very much.

Have a safe journey home.

Lots of love

Jess xxxxxxx

Photo source: Flickr User nyoin.

Photo source: Flickr User nyoin.

2 Responses to “Thank You”

  1. Lou April 24, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    Banish those thoughts of guilt, and being a burden right now! I am so excited to have you here. We all love you and would happily do anything for you, just as you do and would for us. That’s what being a family is all about. Let’s face it, even you wanted to, you wouldn’t be able to get rid of us πŸ™‚ love you loads, Lou.

    • myjourneythrume April 24, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      I’m so excited to be here too! Still seems a bit surreal, given I’ve wanted it for so long. Thank you for your lovely comment, you made me smile πŸ™‚ love you Lou xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

