Reporting from Philadelphia: bad colds and a taste of India.

6 Apr

Hello from a sunny Philadelphia!

Macys' Flower Festival 2013

Macys’ Flower Festival 2013. Photo by Jess B.Β 

The weather has warmed up, the sun is out and it really feels like Spring has finally sprung. And it’s meant to stay that way for the next week, which is fab. The sun always makes me smile πŸ™‚

The weather is the good news. My bad cold is the less good news. The cold is well and truly still with me. I am Mrs cough – a -lot – sneeze – a – lot. My coughing, sniffling and spluttering is truly delightful to be around. I think I’ve probably kept CVS in business this week with the amount of Kleenex, cough drops and flu medicine I’ve gotten through. But hey, lets stop the wallowing and self pity, I do feel better in myself and I definitely don’t ache or hurt anywhere near as much as I did a few days ago (I’m typing this post myself, wohoo!). So that’s progress! ME / CFS is a walk in the park compared to ME / CFS + bad cold! I can’t wait to just have ME / CFS again – never thought I’d say that!!

Anyway, leaving the germs, tissues and coughing aside, I ventured out today for the first time all week. My Mum and Sister pushed me in my wheelchair down to City Hall Square so we could look at the Macys’ flower show. Feeling the sun’s warmth on my face and fresh air was so good.

Indian Elephant at the Macys' Flower Festival. Photo by Jess B.

Indian Elephant at the Macys’ Flower Festival. Photo by Jess B.

The flowers at Macys’ flower show were beautiful (not sure the photos above and below quite do them justice) though it was a little odd the way the displays were dotted amongst the usual clothes and shoes stands. The theme of the flower festival was India and there was a giant elephant draped in a dried flower throw at the centre of the display, a calming blue mosaic water feature as well as Macys’ ever present giant silver American Eagle.

Photo by Jess B. Beautiful flowers at the Macys' Flower Festival 2013.

Photo by Jess B. Beautiful flowers at the Macys’ Flower Festival 2013.

The American Eagle. Photo by Jess B.

The American Eagle. Photo by Jess B.

2 Responses to “Reporting from Philadelphia: bad colds and a taste of India.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ME/CFS Health Update – June 2013 | my journey thru M.E. - June 24, 2013

    […] twitching is back and has been since the horrible bad cold/flu virus I had back in […]

  2. To Jab or Not To Jab….That is The Question | my journey thru M.E. - September 30, 2013

    […] of this year saw me travel to America to visit my sister. A few days after arriving in Philly I came down with, yep you’ve guessed it, the flu. It took me until mid June to feel anywhere […]

Leave a Reply

