Love Starts With Yourself.

2 Apr
The Philadelphia Love Sign. Photo by Jess B.

The Philadelphia Love Sign. Photo by Jess B.

As you know I’m in Philadelphia at the moment. It is known as the City of Brotherly Love and  LOVE is one of its most famous landmarks. The LOVE sculpture by Robert Indiana is proudly displayed in several Philly locations, including this one on UPenn’s campus.

Also today happens to be my Mum and Dad’s 30th wedding anniversary – huge congratulations Mum and Dad, 30 years of marriage is an amazing achievement, lots of love Jess and Lou xx!

So I thought a little post on LOVE was more than appropriate.

Ponder the following if you will and do let me know what you think!

“Our doubts are traitors and makes us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.”

The Great British Playwright William Shakespeare.

As hard as it may be don’t let your doubts about yourself, your illness or your recovery overwhelm you. You risk losing your ability to recover if you do.

 “Try to be like the turtle – at ease in your own shell.”

The American Poet Bill Copeland

Be compassionate and kind to yourself. Be happy with who you are. It will make for a much easier and more comfortable journey if you do. 

“What you think about yourself is much more important than what others think of you.”

The Roman Rhetorician Marcus Annaeus Seneca

I have persistently worried about what others think of me all my life. It is not helpful, nor healthy. I am trying to change this in myself. Each day I gain a little more confidence and self belief.

“Whatever you are doing, love yourself for doing it. Whatever you are feeling, love yourself for feeling it.”

The American Author Thaddeus Gola

You may have ME / CFS or another chronic illness or you may be fit and well. Whatever your particular circumstance, if you love yourself it can only help.

“Love yourself and the rest will come.”

Jess Bruce, British Blogger and ME / CFS Fighter

This is another ‘post I prepared earlier’ and the last one I have done for my time in Philly so from now on you’ll be getting news and updates from me direct from Philly. Provided energy allows, I’ll share my tales of living and exploring Philadelphia with ME / CFS, as well as the gluten free and other edible goodies I come across and make whilst here!

Until next time, lots of love Jess x.

 

Leave a Reply

