Lovely Linseed

28 Jan
Photo by Jess B.

Lovely little linseeds.

Linseed, also known as flaxseed, may seem a strange choice for a blog post. But I literally could not survive without these tiny little seeds so just had to share it with you!

I’ve suffered from IBS symptoms for nearly 10 years. Gastro symptoms were a precursor to, or the first sign of – I just didn’t know it at the time, my ME/CFS . I used to suffer from a swollen, very bloated abdomen on an almost daily basis. I tried elimination diets, and cutting out gluten improved things a bit, but on the whole it seemed it didn’t matter what I ate, my abdomen would always be bloated. Some days my stomach looked like I was 6 months pregnant, or smuggling a watermelon under my top! Sometimes I could barely see my toes (and no I’m not obese, this was definitely bloating and not just tummy fat!) and one particularly bad day at university I remember my jumper no longer meeting my jeans my bloated tummy protruded so far. This wasn’t  just a vanity thing, the bloating was accompanied by severe cramping and spasmodic pains that would leave me clutching a hot water bottle to my tummy doubled over in agony on the floor.

After several very unhelpful trips to my then GP (it’s just exam stress….) a friend of my Mum’s suggested I try a daily dose of linseed. This was 7 years ago and I haven’t looked back since.

You see (and I apologise in advance for too much info, I’ll try to spare you the really icky details) the reason my abdomen was so bloated so much of the time was that my ‘waste elimination’  system had essentially gone on strike. For whatever reason (stress in fact the most likely culprit) my system was not and does not eliminate waste in the smooth regular way that it should. In a word I was blocked, constipated, far too full! This fullness was only compounded whenever I ate by adding to the back log of food matter in my system, which produced the bloating, pain and frustration!

Then I started taking a daily dose of linseed at breakfast time and things dramatically improved!!

My daily dose is 3 dessert spoons of GOLDEN linseed. Feel free to try the standard brown stuff but to me it tastes of soil, a flavour I’m not inclined to eat. I’m not saying the golden stuff is delicious in taste (it is not) but it is much nicer and much more tolerable than it’s brown relative.

It’s important to note that to get the ‘unblocking’ effect, it has to be the seeds themselves. Ground or milled linseed do not work in the same way. Trust me I’ve tried. The seeds bind all the waste in you together thus pushing it through and out of you!! (too much info?!)

Over the years I’ve tried taking my linseed in a variety of ways: in yoghurt, in smoothies, just in water, in porridge and in a glass of milk to name just a few. Now although any of these methods do work and produce the desired effect, the best way I have found to take my daily linseed is to mix it into the vitamin C solution that I also take daily.

Emergen-C Vitamin C

Emergen-C Vitamin C

I dissolve my sachet of 1000mg Emergen-C in cold water and then immediately add my 3 spoons of linseed and drink. Why does this work so well? Why is it different to taking the linseed in plain old water? Well the Emergen-C solution makes the linseed float so you a get a little linseed in every mouthful rather than being left with a heap of it at the bottom of the glass. (It is key to drink the solution immediately because the longer you leave the Emergen-C in the water the more it dissolves and the more the linseed sinks to the bottom). I’m no scientist (I HATED science at school!) but I guess it is something to do with the Emergen-C making the water heavier than the linseed.

Floating linseeds

Floating linseeds

So linseed is an effective, natural and cheap remedy for…ahem…. relieving that blocked up bloated feeling and making your body run smoothly again!

Spread the linseed love around, I’ve introduced several of my friends  to it over the years and now they also swear by it.

5 Responses to “Lovely Linseed”

  1. Neil kenneth September 22, 2016 at 6:05 pm #

    How long did this take to start working please? I’ve just started taking this today.

    • myjourneythrume September 24, 2016 at 5:35 pm #

      Hi Neil, probably a few days. It’s so long since I started taking it I can’t remember really. I use ground linseed now rather than the seeds and that seems to take a day or so to have an effect. Hope it helps. Jess

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ME, my digestion and I…an unhappy threesome | my journey thru M.E. - June 13, 2013

    […] acupuncture and this was pretty effective at reducing the pain and bloating. Somebody told my Mum linseed was a wonder drug for constipation and so it was! I took  linseed every […]

  2. ME, my Digestion and I, The Tale of the Unhappy Threesome Continues | my journey thru M.E. - June 16, 2013

    […] last December I seemed to have my IBS symptoms under control (ish) through daily linseed and a gluten, dairy and low refined sugar diet. Things weren’t perfect but they were […]

  3. Bloated Bellies Are Us: does a high soluble diet help IBS? | my journey thru M.E. - June 20, 2013

    […] fibre foods are NOT the green veggies, seeds (out with the linseed) wholemeal bread, raw fruits, nuts, pulses and beans which is what we, or I at least, previously […]

Leave a Reply

